NJM23 - Entry #24 in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 24, 2023, 10:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

DAT = Day After Thanksgiving (the business term retailers use now instead of Black Friday). Did you know this?

My boss doesn’t know anything about DAT. He doesn’t know anything about anything retail-related. Nobody really worked today. I could tell. I suppose it’s an unwritten rule that we are supposed to be working…wink-wink.

But I went to the coffee shop and worked this morning until lunchtime. Got a few important things out of the way and then told my parents I’d be home at lunchtime.

Of course, my parents no longer get up in time to have breakfast at a real breakfast-y hour, so their breakfast is at like 10:30, so when I came home at noon, they weren’t even close to being ready think about lunch.

I told them I didn’t have time to wait for them to figure their shit out (not in a mean way, just a matter-of-fact way), so I decided to go to the Mexican place on the corner. I wanted to sit outside on the patio because, even though it was a semi-chilly day, the sun was out and it was warm and delicious.

Of course, my sister-in-law drove by and saw me sitting out on the patio and rolled down her window. I told her the story about Mom and Dad not being ready, but that if she was hungry to join me.

Five minutes later, my bro and SIL and niece all joined me for a fun Mexican lunch, complete with beers (for the adults) and Mexican Coke (for the kid…and my brother). It was the most fun I’ve had with that little family - maybe ever? My bro even bought me lunch!

The bubble suit wins again!

But later, after I finished work, I went home to find my mother giving my SIL a hard time about where she was attempting to put the Christmas tree. Long story, but this is no longer really Mom and Dad’s house. I mean, it IS still their house, but they invited my bro and SIL to live in this part of the house - and it just happens to be the part of the house with all of the space to put up the tree!

Round and round they went. And in the end? My mom won.

Are you surprised? My mom always wins.

I know it’s not about winning or losing. This is Family Dynamics 101, and at dinner (which I bought and made - simple chicken Caesar salad) we were able to laugh about it, but that’s been the only moment where there was some discomfort during my whole two days stay.

I’m tucked in bed now and will leave first thing in the morning to head to [my old city] for Brunch Club!!

It’s been a good Thanksgiving. I am lucky. I am grateful. I am glad we made it through better than fine.
Love,
GS


bobbi01 November 25, 2023

Well done you! Ugh though the things families squabble over.

Complicated Disaster November 25, 2023

<3 xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.