Intentions in Everyday Ramblings

  • Nov. 22, 2023, 10:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not my favorite time of year and I have been allowing myself to drift a little. Reading a lot. Mostly mysteries or police procedurals. And about half in audiobook format. I love audiobooks. If they are done well, they can be all consuming with enough bandwidth to get chores done and keep the black dog of depression at bay.

I will be fine by Friday. I like Christmas, the lights, the food, the idea of birth and hope arising humbly out of the darkness. In terms of how my body relates to this, the solstice is in no small measure a factor in turning towards a better frame of mind. Only four weeks to go now.

Many of my students are off on adventures and my classes are small. When they are small like that, I cater to the needs of the individuals who do show up and so one day a class could be full of simple rhythmic movements and on another day more robust. I enjoy doing this, but it is a lot of work.

And because this is the lowest point of the year for me physically and mentally, I am struggling a bit with feeling underappreciated. And apprehensive because I will need to do something that resembles marketing in the new year, something I loathe doing. It is an opportunity to be creative in this arena and I know that but for right now it feels a bit like a slog.

The Coffee Group is taking the week off and I am going down on the train to have Thanksgiving dinner with Kes and Most Honorable and back the same day.

There were more IOS updates recently and I spent hours online with Most Honorable over the weekend figuring out how to make my continuity camera on the iPhone switch back from wide angle (showing all the unpacked boxes still in my living room) to the “normal” frame. I almost gave up. My Macbook Air is 3 years old now. Ancient. Sigh.

Speaking of teaching, I need to get to it. Then Deadlift Club practice and then grocery shopping (oh joy the day before Thanksgiving, amateur day) and then cardio and then… oh, I need to send an email out to my League group on, what is it on, oh right, local transportation issues.

Happy getting closer to the solstice for those here in the Northern Hemisphere and Thanksgiving if you celebrate it. For so many folks it is a wondrous time of getting together and hanging out and that can be a balm in difficult times. For those of us for whom it is a challenge…hang on in there. I intend to.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.