NJM23 - Entry #21 in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 22, 2023, 2:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think I’m starting to come around to this WFH stuff. Here’s what I did today:

  • Woke at 5:00 and worked out at 5:45 (little snooze action in between)
  • Showered and put on an animal print skirt with tights underneath (it's kinda chilly!), sweater, booties, jewelry, makeup, and fixed my hair like I was going somewhere, because I was!
  • Walked the dog
  • Talked to China at 7:30am
  • Went to the grocery store to get last minute fixins for T-giving, lookin' all cute!
  • Went to get coffee and sit in front of the fire at the coffee shop and people watch, attend a webinar, and prep for my afternoon meeting with the founder
  • Walked all through Nordstrom with my dog at lunchtime, letting everyone pet her and love on her (she loooovves going to Nordstrom!)
  • Video chatted with the founder of my company - he's actually super cool and it feels like he has a lot of respect for what I'm doing
  • Emails to China and then to my clueless boss who still doesn't understand that it takes months between product approvals and having product in-house - it's called PRODUCTION and it takes weeks and weeks. He seems to forget this on the daily.
  • Another dog walk and decent quitting time

    Tomorrow I will spend a good portion of the day packing for my Thanksgiving trip!

    I'd still prefer to be going to an office, but I'm going to milk this "freedom" for all it's worth until the next thing comes along. If there's one thing I've realized is that this isn't going to last forever. Nothing lasts forever. Nothing.

    And I'm still in complete AWE that I now have a job that is one thousand times less stressful than the job at Cutie Pie. I was just telling myself this morning that it is worth the thirty-thousand-dollar difference in salary.

    Isn't that nuts?!

    So, I think I have everything I need for the Thanksgiving trek - I just need to pack it all up neatly in sweet lil' Mini Pearl II and get on the road early, early Thursday morning. Tomorrow will be a doozie, I think.

    I have more to say on a serious note (two really terrible things happened this week to friends and I just don't have it in me to download right now), but I am going to have to leave these things for another time when I can process a little better.

    For now, I'm going to bid Day #21 adieu.
    GS

  • ninakir88 November 22, 2023

    30K less is totally worth so much less stress

    pandora November 22, 2023

    Honestly I would take a $30K pay cut for a less stressful job in a heartbeat. I’m happy for you.

    Lux Lunae November 22, 2023

    I'm sorry to hear about your friends. I hope they are ok.

    I'm happy to hear that your job is much more relaxed than the previous. Those entries you write while working there vibed with so very much stress I could barely read them. Let alone you lived it ♥

    bobbi01 November 22, 2023

    Sounds like a successful day! Enjoy your TG.

    Jinn November 22, 2023 (edited November 22, 2023)

    Edited

    I am glad you are content with it and you are so right , nothing is forever . Change is the one constant we can count on .

    Complicated Disaster November 22, 2023

    It blows my mind how many people don't understand that production is a process! xx

    CharminglyNeurotic November 22, 2023

    This job - and working from home -- is what you need. After the insane stress of Cutie Pie co, medical issues and long bouts of unemployment, enjoy this. And hopefully you do so well they in the future they want to keep you so badly they bump up your salary.

    Athena November 22, 2023

    What CN said. It’s not just 30k, it’s potentially your life. Stress is a known killer and Cutie Pie was toxic. Toxic can be deadly.

    kansasgirl November 22, 2023

    Yes, 30k less is worth more in a joyful life than the stress that it can bring you. I know you'll find something that is better suited for your talents and skill but something is better than nothing coming in and being able to enjoy life it better than being stressed! Happy Thanksgiving!

    sudare November 24, 2023

    Animal print clothes can energise people.

    Serin February 02, 2024

    Not understanding production seems like willful ignorance. Yeesh.

    You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.