NJM23 - Entry #20 in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 21, 2023, 3:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today was a beautiful day. I took the dog on three good walks and never even got the car out of the garage.

The things you find out while working from home - I found out both my upstairs AND my downstairs neighbors are moving. I never knew them well at all, so I’m not sad to see them go. But the one moving truck blocked my garage so I couldn’t go anywhere anyway. And yeah, I know i could have asked them to move their truck, but I just didn’t need to. And the other neighbors are going to be moving tomorrow, so I want to be out of here before their truck comes.

I do really like my other neighbors, Lee and Vee. They are the ones I play Pickleball with. Today I saw Lee while I was on one of my walks and she told me that their little Pickleball group loves me. And it made me so happy to hear.

It’s a funny little group of queer folk…and me. I guess you could say that I’m the asexual one. Ha. I mean, sadly, that’s the freaking truth.

I really do want to make a point of making more friends here. Did I tell you that my friend C. Is moving back to Northern California? I’m so sad. He’s keeping his apartment here and will likely travel back and forth, but yeah. He’s not really gonna be here.

So that means I need to get back out there and hopefully find some new peeps to do din-dins with.

The Bumble thing is slow going. People are interested and then not and then they are again. And then I’m not. It’s such a slog and I can’t seem to get excited - especially since I’m not in fighting/fucking form so I feel weird about all that too.

I met a girl a while back and we had dinner a few weeks ago. Today I peeped her Instagram and saw that she’s in Paris. I sent her a message and told her to have fun and she wrote back immediately to tell me that she wants to get together when she’s back. That’s cool. She’s a very, very recently divorced mom of three young boys and is raring to get back into the dating scene quickly. I’m down with running with her for a while.

But first, we gotta get through Thanksgiving.

Other things I gotta start thinking about soon:
- Where I’m going to live next year when my lease is up
- New car when my lease is up - Mini Pearl, III
- New local primary care physician (because I can no longer afford my current doc’s concierge pricing)
- Next job that has decent insurance
- Next love of my life
- Bracing myself to stay at my brother’s place over Thanksgiving. Thankfully, it’s only two days/nights, but I’m going to need to put myself in my little bubble…

Okay. It’s bedtime. I want to watch one more episode of The Morning Show before I fall asleep and then I want to get up early, early so I can get to the grocery store before everyone else and then do an early dog walk and get to the coffee place all before my 8:30am call with China.

Goodnight, lovies!
GS


Last updated November 21, 2023


Jinn November 21, 2023

Lots of things to consider coming up . I am sure you will figure them all out .

bobbi01 November 21, 2023

I hope 24 ticks all those boxes for you. You two should start a new branch of the brunch club.

Complicated Disaster November 21, 2023

I think your town is one place in the US I could actually live!
Dating is a real grind. And it seems to be getting worse as time goes by!
xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ November 22, 2023

I love that you say that. EVERYONE says that about this town and I'm still trying to figure it out and make my place in it.

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ November 22, 2023

To be fair, I haven't been for 20 years but I understand that the vibe is still the same. I'm into the live music scene which helps. I hope you find your niche there! xx

Serin February 02, 2024

A lot more fun looking for a job when you have one. Good hunting.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.