NJM23 - Entry #18 in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 18, 2023, 8:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well hello there! It’s Saturday evening and I’m spending tonight binge watching The Morning Show, messaging a couple of Bumble prospects, and writing an entry.

How exciting.

So yesterday, when I didn’t want to write an entry, I pretty much didn’t want to do anything. In fact, the afternoon was so lovely, I skipped out of work early - because I could! I took the dog for a nice, long, early-evening walk in the big park next to my place and started the weekend early.

This morning I slept in (because the weather’s getting cooler), and then I decided to start getting ready for the week ahead - Thanksgiving week. There’s a lot to put together since I’m going to be doing dinner and a couple of days at Mom and Dad’s.

I’m also bracing myself for the stay with my brother’s family. You know how much I hate the thought of staying in that chaos, but I have decided that I can’t afford to stay in a hotel over Thanksgiving now that I make so much less and my medical insurance is shitty and I keep getting $300 bills every other day.

Word of advice: don’t ever get cancer. You’ll pay for it the rest of your life. I am scared I’m not going to be able to retire unless I win the lottery or find a rich widower after going on The Golden Bachelor in a few years.

Anyway, I bought pies (they are now in the freezer) and two magnums of sparkling wine from Trader Joes. Have you seen the L’Eclat Blanc de Blanc and the Brut Rose magnums? They are very pretty bottles and so fun to serve at Thanksgiving! I think I’ll bring one to our family dinner and take the other one to Best Bud’s as I’ll be spending Saturday night at her house.

I hope it all works out - I have yet to get a confirmation from Martini’s old daycare where I’m hoping to take her while we do our brunches and dinners and such. I’ve decided that I’m just going to bring her in and insist that they take her and not give them an option, ha!

Fingers crossed.

And I have to plan all of my outfits. Today I tried to shop for cute boots to wear with one of my outfits and I just couldn’t make it work. I need help. I need a whole new wardrobe…but I also need a new job that will help me afford things again.

Yes, I’m exaggerating, but only halfway. I have taken a huge hit to my security and I do not like it one bit.

Okay, on with the binge watching. I’m getting sleepy. Let’s see how long I last.

Love,
GS


Jinn November 18, 2023

Good luck with it all !

colder November 18, 2023

We are tightening up our spending too… it’s rough right now with prices so high on everything. Holiday travel really took a bite out of us last year too, so we’re staying home this year.

sudare November 19, 2023

I need a new wardrobe, too. During the pandemic I didn’t buy that much, so everything is worn out.

Palmtreesandzebras November 19, 2023

I feel you on that front. Slate went to rehab a year ago, and started to take his health seriously. Bills bills bills for days. Just basically don’t get sick ever.

I am heading to TJs today, so I’ll have to check our your recommendations!

Serin February 01, 2024

I'm really glad you could and did skip out for a nice afternoon. That's a sort of superpower.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.