NJM23 - Entry #16 in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 16, 2023, 9:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sixteen days into NoJoMo.

I just watched The Golden Bachelor with [Athena] on FaceTime. It was the Fantasy Suite week and OH MY GOD did Gerry put himself into a pickle! Are you watching this? I’m so anxious about it!

Today was a cool and gray day and I haven’t been able to get warm, so here I sit on my sofa, wrapped in a scarf and snuggled with the dog and a blanket. I’m writing this entry and then I can’t wait to crawl into bed.

Presentation at work today went well. The CEO sent me a text afterwards and thanked me and told me that I did a good job. My boss, the Inbox Nazi said nothing.

I just still can’t wrap my brain about working from home and I don’t know how to remedy that. I was finally introduced to the rest of the team via another Zoom meeting. These All Team meetings fall on Thursdays (except on “focus weeks”) and I’m just finishing up Week 5 (I think?) and I’m finally part of the team!

The weird thing in this meeting was that someone (I think Inbox Nazi?) got the whole team T-shirts that had a funny phrase on them about being burned out but still optimistic, sent them to us, and asked that we all wear the T-shirts on Monday. Is that remote team building? It doesn’t even mean anything except maybe that we will be working on Black Friday? And if that is the case, why didn’t he ask us to wear the shirts on Friday?

He then made us ALL get some kind of personalization application for Zoom during the meeting. This app is kind of like a signature for Zoom calls and it will display your name and your top 5 strengths from the Clifton Strengthsfinder program. Mine wouldn’t work and I felt like a dumbass during the meeting, but he sat there and made everyone tailor their personal signature cards, taking up time so that we will all be alike.

He is SO WEIRD!!! Such a freaking Nazi.

Yesterday was pretty so I threw my laptop and my dog in the car and we went to a cute coffee shop where I sat next to others who were also working. That was nice-ish. I’ll probably be doing more of that soon.

Anyway. Tomorrow’s Friday and then another weekend will be upon us! I can’t believe I was in Mexico a week ago, holding up my drunk friends!

Speaking of falling, I’m about to stumble to my bed.

Love you,
GS


Jinn November 16, 2023

Inbox Nazi is very strange.

bobbi01 November 17, 2023

Gosh he expends a lot of energy on nice to haves.

Firebabe November 17, 2023

Sounds like someone gave the Inbox Nazi a talking-to, told him he needed to work on this team skills, and then gave him a list of suggestions to do so. Which he promptly turned into a checklist, and is now working his way down it. LOL.

plushcreep November 18, 2023

Inbox Nazi is the most appropriate nickname ever.

Serin February 01, 2024

Yeah, that's totally remote-team-building. I am not good at the school-spirit side of teams.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.