NJM23 - Entry #15 in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 15, 2023, 9:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not much to say today. I stayed out too late last night (which wasn’t even that late, but I guess I just can’t hang anymore), so I had a little trouble getting up this morning.

I have a presentation to give to the “exec team” tomorrow. This team consists of my boss (Inbox Nazi), the CEO (who is unbelievably sweet), and the Founder (who is super cool so far). I spent a good portion of the day working on a PowerPoint that shows what the fuck a true product development process IS so that they will understand they haven’t been doing it right.

I suppose that’s why they hired me, but had I known then what I know now, I would have asked for even more money…haha. I sound like a dick, but it’s true - this place is wild and they need someone, anyone to come clean this shit up. Right now, all I am able to do is give them bad news because they’ve been overpromised and underdelivered by their vendors (who are now MY vendors and MY problem).

Sigh.

Enough about work.

I don’t have much else to talk about though. Ha!

I’m not ready to talk about the Holidays, though next week is already T-giving! WTF. And I guess I’m going to put my decorations up soon because the company founder is coming to [my city] to work with me for a few days and I need to spruce up the place if we’re going to be working at my dining room table!

It’s going to be interesting.

I know I said I wasn’t going to talk about work, but the company founder is kind of a celebrity, and last night, when I went to dinner with C. at our favorite Greek place, I mentioned to the owner and the chef that this guy is coming here to work with me they were totally blown away impressed and told me that if I bring him to their restaurant, they’d roll out the red carpet!

So that’s going to be fun, I think. Or it might be weird. I think it’s weird that I’m going to be working with this guy alone in my apartment for a few days. Still, I was told that if I was uncomfortable with it that they would set up a place for us to work together. But since he’s going to be sending a bunch of samples, I figure, let’s just work here and take care of things here since I’ll be storing stuff here (which I also don’t like…see why I don’t like WFH for a product developer?).

ANEEYYYWAY. I have a bunch of stuff to do in the morning to prep for this preso and I’m sleepy, so I’m going to go to bed now.

Gnite, my loves.
GS


CharminglyNeurotic November 15, 2023

This sounds so much better than Cutie Pie Co

colder November 16, 2023

I'm glad this is going well-ish so far, even if you have a bigger job cleaning things up than you imagined at first. Quite an improvement from the last place, huh? :)

Jinn November 16, 2023

Hoping your presentation blows them away !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.