NJM23 - Entry #14 in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 14, 2023, 11:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I guess I’m off the prompts for now. No biggie. Let them (ha, see previous entry).

I took my friend C to dinner tonight to thank him for taking care of Martini while I traipsed off to Mexico to hang with my girls. Honestly, it was a lovely time. Expensive as hell, but I do love my friend C and he took great care of Martini, so while I cringed at the bill, I remember how nice it was to have him take care of her and love on her and take pics of her while I was gone, etc. It was worth it.

Working through the details of Thanksgiving with my fam. We’re gonna get a turkey but have a BBQ place cook it (thank goodness), and we’re all going to bring side dishes. I’m relegated to pies and a bottle of wine. Fine.

My new company doesn’t give the Day After Thanksgiving (DAT) off. So I’ll be hanging around my family’s house (at a coffee shop during most of the day) and workin’. I can’t wait to see how hard people in my new company work on this day. I’ve been working in retail for years and years and haven’t had to work Black Friday in many years. I don’t know why this thinking is so freaking antiquated! Well, I think it’s my boss, the Inbox Nazi.

But the good news is, we’re bringing back Brunch Club on the Saturday after Thanksgiving! And for this, I can’t wait!

More details to follow. I gotta go to bed. Eyes closing while I type.
Love,
GS


Jinn November 14, 2023

Didn’t you work Black Friday at that store a couple of years ago ? I hide in the house on that day :-)

bobbi01 November 15, 2023

Some employers miss such easy wins with the staff. Great idea to get the bird cooked elsewhere.

memorablereceive November 15, 2023 (edited November 16, 2023)

Edited

Some employers overlook simple opportunities with their staff. It's a fantastic idea to have the bird cooked elsewhere. geometry dash meltdown

Complicated Disaster November 15, 2023

Having somewhere else cook your turkey sounds like a great idea! Specially if they are going to smoke it! xx

sudare November 15, 2023

That’s nice to have C!

plushcreep November 16, 2023

Thankfully, my current job does give us Black Friday off...but the two before did not. That was new to me (and I hated it).

Serin February 01, 2024

We never got Black Friday off, but so many people took the day as vacation that it didn't matter.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.