NJM23 - Entry #13 in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 14, 2023, 2:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

…but Mexico really wasn’t ALL bad!

I know I gave you the impression that it was a terrible vacation. It wasn’t!

In fact, 93% of it was lovely. It’s a shame that I let 7% of the time take up so much of my emotional energy. I loved being with my friends - I really, really did. They have been such an important part of my life for nearly forty years! I would never want to let some dumb gummies mixed with booze be the reason for not seeing them again.

I’m set in my ways and I’ve just been alone for far, far too long and I need to just let things go and just Let Them. Have you heard of this life hack to help you overcome the stress you feel around other peoples’ actions? It’s called “Let Them” See Mel Robbins short video here:

Then here we are, back to real life and I’m back to a very real job. I’m the new kid but was still buried in emails when I logged on today. Today I was happy that I am a remote worker as I struggled getting out of bed. I did my workout a little late, but found a fantastic post-workout stretch video that really seemed to do the trick with my hip stiffness, then I took the dog for a good little walk and was finally sitting down at my desk by 8:45 (still early for West Coast, and I worked until after 6pm today, so I’d say it was okay).

And now I’m so freaking exhausted. I’m about to put on my flannel jammies, curl up in bed and catch up on the Golden Bachelor that I missed while I was in Mexico. And THEN I need to start the latest season of The Morning Show. Anybody else? Don’t spoil, please…I haven’t even started it!

Off I go…goodnight, sleep tight!
GS


Jinn November 14, 2023

I haven’t watched any of The Morning Show yet but I plan to do that and the new season of The Gilded Age .

colder November 14, 2023

I heard something similar to that Let Them theory from a therapist some years ago. It’s been a very helpful concept for me, with my particular personal struggles, to move away from worrying about / trying to control others’ perceptions. Usually of me, but also in general. It’s still tough sometimes and sometimes my perfectionism flares up, but overall I think it works very well.

bobbi01 November 14, 2023

My fomo would never allow the "let them". I want to go to that damn brunch!

pandora November 14, 2023

I just started following Mel Robbins on Instagram this week.

Newest season of The Morning Show was really, really good.

sudare November 14, 2023

That’s a good catch up!

Athena November 14, 2023 (edited November 14, 2023)

Edited

Let them and take care of you.

ninakir88 November 14, 2023

Morning show was blah for me this season

Jinn November 15, 2023

Let them is interesting but I am such a care taker; I would have to play nursemaid :-)

Complicated Disaster November 15, 2023

I like the Let Them thing. It kind vibes with my "chuck it in the fuckit bucket" principle! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ November 15, 2023

Yes! I love the FuckIt Bucket!

Serin February 02, 2024

It's important to recognize the parts that you value too. It's good that you see the good as well as the bad.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.