NJM23 - Entry #12 in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 12, 2023, 8:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sunday evening. I’m home from Mexico and exhausted. Whew. What a freaking trip. That truly took a lot out of me.

Disclaimer: All of the things I’m about to say below are going to sound petty and very first-world problem-y, but it’s what’s on my mind tonight.

I have a ton of things to say about the girls. I want to work through my emotions about this because I honestly don’t want to lose friendships over this, but I can’t take another trip if Anni is going to be a mean, sloppy, disrespectful drunk during all of our trips.

And look, There have already been girls who were singled/kicked out of this group for being negative about one thing or another - I don’t want to be singled out, but I also don’t want Anni to be singled out either. I don’t think either of us will, but I do feel like there is going to need to be some honest communication before our next trip.

I’ve also decided that Mexico is not really my jam for vacations. As I’ve said over and over, I’m not a beachy girl. But I don’t really think I’m much of a Mexico girl on top of that sentiment. I mean, it was fine enough, and maybe it was the resort where we stayed, but I was not impressed (even though this particular hotel is listed as a Five Star Resort) with the venue or the “all-inclusive” stuff that’s not really all-inclusive at all. Everywhere we went and everything that we did had some sort of extra charge added on. And then every…single…person needed a tip here and another tip there. I thought the big tips came at the end? Well, yeah, we also gave huge tips at the end on TOP of the tips every time someone even looked our direction.

And the kicker this morning was that, even though we’d booked a separate car service for me to get to the airport early (my flight was earlier than everyone else’s), we confirmed it with our butler (yes, every room has a personal butler - jeez, I sound so bougie!!), but even with confirmation texts and tons of details, my car was never ordered (!!), so there I look like a prima donna asking where my car was and why wasn’t it ordered and NOBODY would do anything about it. They were all like… “OH WELL. Looks like your car wasn’t ordered after all. Looks like you’re on your own.” Like, these people could not give one tiny shit about ANYTHING once I’d checked out of my little portion of the vacation.

So I finally had them call me a cab and thank GOD the driver spoke fantastic English. I know I got lucky with this one because (a) sometimes these taxi drivers are totally NOT legit and who knows what they could do with a clueless white woman, and (b) the jerks at the resort valet stand told the driver that I was taking a domestic flight instead of a flight back to the freaking United States!

And yeah, I know the taxi driver quoted me a bogus fare because they ALL take advantage of the situation, I was just grateful that I’d had enough tip money to pay for my cab ride to the airport!

There’s so, so, sooooo much more, but I’m going to end here because I’m such a complain-y pants tonight because I’m just so dog-tired.

Speaking of dogs…I got my Martini back tonight too! Sweet C brought her back to me today and we had a good chit chat and I’m just so grateful that he loves Martini and kept her for five days. And though he’s not trustworthy at all with times and super hard to pin down, I’m still going to take him to dinner to thank him for his love and care of my heart and soul while I was gone.

Okay, that’s ending on a high note right there.

Tomorrow starts a new work week…whee! Here we go!
GS


colder November 12, 2023

I’m with you in the let’s-party-responsibly crowd. But, I’m glad you got some time off and to get away even if it isn’t your ideal sort of trip. I’m sure Martini is happy tonight too!

Jinn November 12, 2023

Mexico when we went was exactly the way you said ; all inclusive was not exactly all inclusive. Five star had to be a lie. Our room was mediocre at best . It was supposed to have an ocean view; it wasn’t . Getting things like fresh towels and our bed changed was an exercise in persistence . No room cleaning was done. There was way too much alcohol and it was hard to get other things to drink. Going into town was a little scary in the taxis ; they drove 80 miles a hour and they did not care if they drove other cars off the road. There were a lot of children begging . A tiny girl followed us for blocks after we went to the market ( barely over a toddler ) . No one was watching her . We finally turned around and took her to a policeman , who seemed shocked I bothered . I ended up with a weird parasite from eating fruit at the hotel ( which they told us was safe) . It took a month to cure after we got home. It was very beautiful and I had fun but I am not a Mexico person either. We went three times and it was more than enough.
I can totally understand why you want to clarify a few things with your friends before another trip with them.

bobbi01 November 12, 2023

That's really disappointing about the resort. They always look so amazing in brochures, and they certainly stress being all inclusive. I hope your friend isn't struggling with something deeper, there's letting loose on holiday and then there is that.

Complicated Disaster November 13, 2023

This is why I don't like all-inclusive resorts! xx

sudare November 13, 2023

That sounds disappointing. At least you were one of the drunks. Have a peaceful time with Martini.

Firebabe November 13, 2023

We quit doing "all-inclusive" resorts in Mexico about 10 years ago. Mexico is a really beautiful country, but their economy is fucked six ways from Sunday and if you don't speak Spanish then somehow there's an extra charge for EVERYTHING. Plus it's hard to truly enjoy yourself in a country where there is (fine print) warnings everywhere you look, that if you leave the resort you will basically be dead. And yes, as soon as you check out, it's like you are suddenly invisible. "Customer service" is not a phrase that is used very often in those circles. LOL.

One thing we learned really early on (by accident) is that if you tip big, right up front, then you will have resort employees falling all over themselves to do stuff for you. My husband had a small army following him around at one point, it was sort of sad and hilarious at the same time.

ninakir88 November 13, 2023

what was teh resort? i love mexico so i cant relate

Fawkes Gal November 14, 2023

The one time I went on a Mexican cruise I found the whole ordeal so uncomfortable. I think I'm just not really a tourist type. Things like cruises and resorts just aren't my jam.

plushcreep November 16, 2023

My FIL has a beautiful home in Mexico. I have yet to visit and have ZERO desire to do so.

Serin February 01, 2024

Well, that car booking is every nightmare I have about travel. Yeesh!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.