NJM23 - Entry #9 in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 9, 2023, 9:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Prompt: Thirsty Thursday! What do you like to drink - alcoholic and nonalcoholic?

Are you really asking me this question right now? While I’m in the land where they push tequila on you as soon as you walk off the plane? Ugh. I’m 56-years-old and hungover this morning. I honestly was wondering if it was monezumas revenge last night or if I was going to throw up or what.

It was a long day and I was the first to arrive at the resort where we are staying. My friend Wen had gotten me a private shuttle and I asked the driver if he had any water, but the first thing the driver did was offer to take me to get some tequila! I’d already had three mimosas on the plane! I opted for him to take me to a Mexican 7-eleven and bought him a water and got myself a water as well and a Topo Chico (also when in Rome).

When I got to the resort, the concierge handed me a glass of sparkling wine and I was told that the condo wasn’t ready yet so if I’d like to sit at the rooftop bar and have a drink or two while they got the place ready and before my friends arrived.

I was good and toasty by the time everyone arrived and to be honest, bubbly is my favorite alcoholic drink, but ughhhhh…I’d had way to much of it by dinner time.

A couple of my friends love to imbibe in gummies, but they get way too stupid when they do. It would be fun if we just laughed and maybe said a few dumb things, but one of my girls in particular gets so fucked up that she has to be physically supported upright and sometimes halfway carried. It’s weird to be in our fifties and to have one of us still get that fucked up.

Last night was no exception, and even though I’d taken half a gummy myself, I was not in the mood to carry my friend and shush her when she got way, way, WAAAAY too loud.

Last night I slept terribly due to excessive alcohol. I know when I’ve gone overboard by the way I get heart palpitations.

Anyway, it’s now Thursday night. We’ve had a splendid day of eating, drinking, walking tours to Mayan ruins, poolside merrymaking, massages, hot tubs and steam rooms, and other vacation-y things.

I’d say my favorite non-alcoholic drink is still the bubbly kind - sparkling water. Think Topo Chico and other mineral water.

Anyway, more thoughts to follow - I’m being interrupted again. Ha!
Love you to bits,
GS


bobbi01 November 09, 2023

If you don't have a holiday hangover have you even has a holiday? Oof I cringe when my friends get like that, they are just so vulnerable.

Jinn November 09, 2023

Have fun !
About your friend ; Getting insensible is irresponsible , especially in a foreign country. Kind of thoughtless to depend on her friends to take care of her as well . She is old enough to know better; that is college student stuff . 🤦‍♀️

Complicated Disaster November 10, 2023

Sounds like good times! I'm pretty sure there's no such thing as too much bubbles! Xx

pandora November 10, 2023

I’d also be afraid to carry gummies across borders!

As a (now) non-drinker, I cannot tell you how much more wonderful holidays are without the hangovers. I do remember the joys of being silly and drunk though - also good, just not quite worth it as I age!

colder November 10, 2023

You’re a lot more fun than I am haha. Enjoy the trip!

Lux Lunae November 10, 2023

Sounds like a fun time, but nursing a hangover on day 2 would be annoying haha.

TrippyNina November 15, 2023

There's always that one friend...lol

Ginger Snap TrippyNina ⋅ November 15, 2023

I know!
sigh

Serin January 05, 2024

I would have a hard time with a friend who let themselves get that sloppy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.