NJM23 - Entry #1 in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 1, 2023, 9:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well hello there! It’s that time of year…the entry-a-day time of year! I rarely use the prompts, but maybe I’ll try this year.

Today’s prompt from our dear fellow PBer [kitkat] is:

November 1 - Introduce yourself! Include a photo if you’re up to it.

Hello…I’m Ginger Snap!

Now, you know I try to stay as anonymous as I can in this high-tech world of social media. Though I’d bet that more people on here who read me are also connections on one form of social media or another AND we’ve likely already met in person, too. I’m still not going to post a picture!

Maybe someday.

I’m a 56-year-old, never-married, childless, mostly cheerful woman who loves my dog almost too much and cherishes time with my friends.

I’m a survivor of Stage 3 colon cancer, a freak carotid artery dissection that left me with an unruptured brain aneurysm, and two broken engagements that both happened mere weeks ahead of each fully planned and mostly paid-for weddings. I’m holding my breath while I watch my parents age with as much grace and grit as they possibly can muster. And I’m trying to piece my career back together after two grueling stints of unemployment that ate up a chunk of my retirement.

Some force of the universe has tried to gut-punch and sink me time and time again, and yes, there have been times when I’ve used alcohol and food and cigarettes and benzos and social media and trash TV and shopping and…I wish I could say SEX, but I haven’t had enough of that…to buffer the blows.

I have been out of sorts for months now - and I can’t describe the feeling. It’s actually something I’ve never felt before and I certainly can’t even fathom how to get the words out in writing. But it’s been…not good. I can’t say it’s been awful because look at how the world is blowing up right now - THAT’S awful. THIS is just sucky and depressing. Yes, I know what depression feels like. It feels like this.

But I remain optimistic. Because it’s the only thing I can do. I keep getting up. I keep trying again. And goddamn it, NOW is not the time to give up.

I’m working my way out of a 5-year slump and I know it’s going to get better. But I have to make it better. Life’s not going to magically clear itself up.

Or maybe it will? Maybe after five years of storms and rain the sun’s going to shine on me?

Doubtful.

I can’t take the risk of just waiting it out. I’m not getting any younger and I’ve had to work hard all my life anyway. Why would this be any different?

So. There you have it. That’s me - The State of Me right now.

Hi.
GS


FrayMyste November 01, 2023

Hello there!! I hope your slump is coming to an end. ❤️

Where are the prompts located? I am back from a 6 year hiatus and would love to participate - what a good way to get journaling again.

Ginger Snap FrayMyste ⋅ November 02, 2023

Oh wow! Welcome back! I think there might be a couple of different prompt lists going around, the one I found with this prompt is in [kitkat]'s prosebox (please note: in the search bar, put a "*" in place of the "["s on either side of the word "kitkat"...hope that make sense). Enjoy!

FrayMyste Ginger Snap ⋅ November 02, 2023

Thank you so much! That was very helpful. :)

Jinn November 01, 2023

And we love you :-)

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ November 02, 2023

Thank you!! xo

Jinn November 01, 2023

Where do you find the prompts ?

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ November 02, 2023

I think there might be a couple of different prompt lists going around, the one I found with this prompt is in [kitkat]'s prosebox (please note: in the search bar, put a "*" in place of the "["s on either side of the word "kitkat"...hope that make sense). Enjoy!

Jinn Ginger Snap ⋅ November 03, 2023

Thanks! I was not finding them ! :-)

bobbi01 November 02, 2023

You deserve all of the sun (without the sunburn)

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ November 02, 2023

Awww, thank you! ❤️

Complicated Disaster November 02, 2023

Hi GS <3 xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ November 02, 2023

Well hello!!

TrippyNina November 02, 2023

Hello! I just added you to my friends list. :)
Cheers to a great month of writing.

Ginger Snap TrippyNina ⋅ November 02, 2023

Hi! Thank you so much! I clicked over and added you as well - and cheers to you too!

sudare November 03, 2023 (edited November 03, 2023)

Edited

That’s a perfect self introduction. I like your optimism. Staying anonymous sounds like the best strategy on the net!

Starhawk November 05, 2023

nice to meet you. i do like these reintroduction posts from folks doing the 'jomo.

Serin January 03, 2024

I hope you are so very proud of the person in your mirror.

It's lovely to meet you a little more formally.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.