It Could Be Worse? in Me Being Me

Revised: 10/30/2023 9:12 a.m.

  • Oct. 30, 2023, 3 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hubby is always telling me that he and his mom and his brother and even my son has had it worse with slum lords who are too cheap to put the heat on in the winter because they can’t afford it. But I keep telling them that I am not them and they didn’t complain to the right people and that is why they either suffered or moved. And just because it’s at a leagal level for heat doesn’t mean that it’s good for me. Everyone has different ways of dealing with coldness and mine so far is to use more electricity. And I reall don’t want to do that because then we won’t get any money for the unused carbon tax we pay for. I figure she can use my sahre to fix something and then it won’t be comming out of her pocket. But when hubby pays the rent he is going to tell her he is uncomfortable here in the mornings so I am hoping she will turn the heat up at least 5 degrees so maybe I can feel some heat comming from the heat vents.
Yesterday I had a headache from the time I woke up at 3:00 am till I went to bed at like 8:00 pm and I even had two naps but that didn’t help much.
I did go out and I got two paids of flannel pj’s because hubby thinks they will keep me warmer in the mornings but I don’t think so. And i slo got the one thing I was missing for hubbys holiday gifts and I bought some food. All in all it was good to get out but then I came home or should I say the place I just pay rent..I don’t have a home because my brother in law and his dead mom are on the lease so I am not considered at tenant here. I am not sure what I am and if I don’t live here then why am I paying a share of the rent? I am not really being treated right here and it seems like I have no rights and she can do what she wants and get away with it weather it’s leagal or not. But the one thing that I am most terfified about is that she will eveict me because I am trying to be a good tenenet. But I can’t be a good anything if I am scared about getting evicted.

Onto something else…

I am thinking dinner tonight will be steak but I am not sure I will want to eat. I just don’t feel like eating when I am not feeling good and I am cold. And I feel cold all day and when the heat is on it’s never hot enough for me to feel comfortable. I figure if the heat was 5 degrees hotter all day then I would feel like I can move better and easier. But if the heat isn’t turned up then I will eb spending a lot of time in bed under my covers because I am just too cold.
Because I feel so cold all the time I am finding that I wake up during the night and can’t get back to sleep no matter how long it takes me to get warm and by the time I have to go pee I am awake and up for hours till hubby is gone to work or has eaten breakfast.

Onto something else....

Well, I need to stop here…
Do have a great day…
Be Kind, Be calm, Be Safe and Behave.


Last updated October 30, 2023


theKat October 30, 2023

sorry you have to put up with that. I think all of our low income housing have to have their own meter... many keep it very cool too because they don't have the money to spend 300 to 400 on electric bills... not because the size of their home but because the house is not well insulated or has bad windows. many old victorian homes in the inner city rent those homes our as 4 apartments but I hear they are hot in the summer and cold in the winter because of super high ceiling and windows.

Jodie theKat ⋅ October 30, 2023

I once asked her why there wasn't seperate heating for both places and she said she was too cheap to put in two furnaces and two water tanks. if it were me I would make each place indeopendent then I could decide for myself.

theKat Jodie ⋅ October 30, 2023

it really does not cost that much and it would be to her benefit! because then you would have to pay and if it was only 200 a month or if it is 400 a month that would be you payment

Jodie theKat ⋅ October 30, 2023

I know but now this house is 54 years old and she says it's too old to do anything with it.

theKat Jodie ⋅ October 30, 2023

lmao! 54 is not old for a house! there are home still looking great that are 300 years old and in Europe and other countries 200 is not old

Jodie theKat ⋅ October 30, 2023

I know but she says it is.

theKat Jodie ⋅ October 30, 2023

I prefer a home that is 25 years or older... you can always update things but new home are just not built with as high quality as they used to be.

Jodie theKat ⋅ October 30, 2023

I know... I look at some of these older homes and they akways look so cool

theKat Jodie ⋅ October 30, 2023

and if she did do that would rent would increase due to the extra pipes, vents, water heater, furnace, and a/c.... maybe an extra 100 a month and you utilities would probably be around 300 so that would cost you about 400 at least more a month so be thankful

Jodie theKat ⋅ October 30, 2023

well if I paid all of that at least I woldn't have to depend on anyone else and if something went wrong I could fix it and not worry that it would explode.

Rabbit Girl ウサギの女の子 October 30, 2023

We haven't gotten the carbon tax rebate yet. IDKWTF they are doing there ... at least BC got it. We have lovely politicians like Doug Ford who as far as I can say, can go fuck himself.

Jodie Rabbit Girl ウサギの女の子 ⋅ October 30, 2023

I thought all of Canada got the carbon tax? But what do I know?

Rabbit Girl ウサギの女の子 Jodie ⋅ October 30, 2023

Nope. :-o

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.