Property Update #33- My House! in Tennessee

  • Oct. 25, 2023, 8:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s finally time to pick my home model! My pre-approval went through and my rate is locked in at 7.2%. I guess it went up to 7.5 or 7.6% for new folks now. I’m still kind of salty about that but whatever. I guess I can refinance later.

Before I dive into talking about my home models, there are some tidbits. Bestie and her hubby are driving to Crossville on Friday to close on their mortgage, and then the building begins! Hopefully they will have a ballpark on when construction will be happening and how long it will take. So we can plan on how we want to go about our lease for renting (until the build is done).

Sometime next week the foundation guy is going to meet us back on the property and discuss home placements again. There are flags down on the land now, but they need to be moved based on the most updated survey. Bestie wants to move her house a little bit forward so she gets more useable space in the back before the land slopes downhill. My home placement will be a bit more complicated. They may need to level out the land more on my side. Which is fine because some of my budget money won’t be needed for deforestation so it may be fine.

Then, the septic permits need to be finalized/updated. We already have one (which will probably be for my home) but the soil guy needs to test the back area of besties land and then we can update the second permit I paid for a few months ago.

I have 7 or 8 home models to choose from that fit into my budget. I have them narrowed down to 4. I have until Friday to pick. I could mull over this for months really. They are mostly similar in a sense that the master is on one side and the other 2 bedrooms are on the other. Kitchen, dining, living and utility areas are a little different on each.


Last updated October 25, 2023


music & dogs & wine October 26, 2023

That sounds exciting! I would want to see them and vote!

AnOrangeZebra music & dogs & wine ⋅ October 26, 2023

Aww you're so sweet. I came to a decision! I'm gonna message you!

music & dogs & wine AnOrangeZebra ⋅ October 26, 2023

Love it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.