a dream atop a gallant horse in addressing the public

  • Oct. 26, 2023, 1:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

in dreams i suffer my own romances
time passes but it feels like time is a circle

i wept atop a gallant horse
a figure asked me why i cared
about the cowboy in the wind who broke my heart from the inside

“because i loved him” i choked out,
surprised by my own emotion
for awake i’m nothing if not steady
but something deep down bubbled over

(i didn’t think he deserved my love
and i was right
but in my mightiness, my wrongedness, and holier-than-thouness,
i never grieved that i gave it to him anyway.)

i wake up crying but feeling like something has been unlocked


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.