Day 4 at Cool Cat in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 19, 2023, 3:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So far so good…but I don’t even have an email set up yet, so I’m really just playing around and learning the product categories. I like it right now, but I know the storm is coming. I’m bracing myself to be pretty freaking busy in the coming days!

Today is the day they laid off two people, one and a half of whom I will replace. I’m a little worried about that. But what can I do… I’m just grateful to have a job. I know it had to be hard on the three bosses there because the company is so small, but I also know that business is a cruel…business. Ya know? You always, always have to watch out for yourself because your company won’t.

Tomorrow I have an extra long meeting with my new boss. I feel very meh about him, but I really like the CEO and the business founder (two different people). I hope we get off on the right foot. It feels like we will.

I’m struggling a bit with WFH - only because I miss talking to people during the workday, but again, I’ll figure it out. I think I’m going to pack up my laptop in a second and run out to a coffee shop to soak in the glorious day (it’s gorgeous outside!) and maybe people-watch for a bit while I take notes on the products that are currently on the website.

Then…my favorite time of day: quitting time. Heh.

Tonight is the Golden Bachelor. I hope that [Athena] and I can sync up our viewing situations and watch together again. Anybody else watching? Let me know and let’s start a text string so we can dish!

Gerry is so darling! I hope they keep this old-folks bachelor stuff going. If they keep it long enough, I’ll be eligible. And I don’t even mean it will need to be that much longer. I turn 56 in ONE WEEK!! I think the age of eligibility is 60. Oh my lord. Sixty. I’m pushing the Big Six-Oh!

Anyway.

I was loving Teresa - especially because she got to go on that fun date in the Corvette to the diner that ended with a flash mob dance), but ever since she turned into a dick at the end of last week’s episode I don’t like her anymore. They always keep the asshole on the show for a while so they can stir up drama, and she’s stirring the shit just fine. Jerk.

And then I was loving…I think her name is Karen? The one who had to leave because her daughter called her crying about her newborn baby? I get it, but she was amazing.

And then, I loved Edith, but she didn’t get a rose last week. Wah!

Who’s it gonna be? Watch with me!
Anyway, guess I better get back TO WORK (so happy to say those words!)
GS


CharminglyNeurotic October 19, 2023

I've been watching!

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ October 19, 2023

What are your thoughts?

CharminglyNeurotic Ginger Snap ⋅ October 19, 2023

I love it. Gives me hope.

At Last October 19, 2023

60 isn’t so bad.

Ginger Snap At Last ⋅ October 19, 2023

I know! I’ll be thrilled to be 60!

Complicated Disaster October 20, 2023

Fingers crossed it all goes well! Interestingly, the only easy way you can lay people off in the UK is if their role is redundant and their work doesn't need to be done anymore. So they can't be replaced for 6 months. There's nuance, but that's the gist.
xx

Jinn October 21, 2023

I never watch Reality shows :-)

SweetMelissa October 25, 2023

I struggled for a couple of months with the WFH thing, too. I love socializing and I love my coworkers. But then I got used to it and I love it. I talk to my mom, sister, best friend on the phone sometimes for an hour - because they all work from home, too. I have a corner office with window views, my dog underfoot all day. I see my coworkers for brunch. So, it's worked out. And I save a ton of $$ on not driving my car. You'll find the silver lining. :)

What do you have planned for your birthday? Something exciting and festive, I hope.

Serin January 03, 2024

Something my crew started doing because WFHlockdown was we booked a standing meeting, every other Friday afternoon and it was entirely social except inevitably it would also be a bit of a support session as we caught up on things we were stuck or struggling with.

It's harder for you since you're the newcomer, but as you find people with clue, maybe a standing virtual hangout might be a way to bridge that isolation?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.