Dis-armed in These titles mean nothing.

  • Oct. 18, 2023, 10:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I get flu shots tomorrow. Pfizer update and old people’s blend.

Time/Temp - Wednesday morning - almost 9:30. Cool, breezy, sunny. 56 or so degrees of Fahrenheit.

Wearing - Gray socks, dark gray sweat pants, gray local dairy store promo tee, and my old red hoodie from my old old old job.

Watching - Saw part of a Gabor Mate interview on youtube. He is the guy who interviewed Prince Harry. He’s a Canadian psychiatrist/celebrity. He says nice people get sick because they take everything on themselves and can’t say no. I don’t believe I fit in that category.

I should have an item for Excercise. Not that I’ve been doing any but I’ve been watching videos about the Five Tibetan Rites. Yoga classified and quatified. I threw away my yoga mat. That was a dumb thing to do. You know I’d eventually want it. Funny thing though - I thought I threw it away a couple years ago and then I found it and then I really threw it away. There is a resurrection parallel there somewhere.

Reading - A heavily underlined and bookmarked with a blank sheet of notepaper from a local bank paperback of The Arrogrance of Power by Senator William Fulbright - 1966. Fulbright was famously against the Viet Nam war. I wonder who believed in him. Also dipping back into E.L.Doctorow’s beautiful novel City of God. I love that book. I love that man.

Eating - just had a bowl of K and am currently nursing hot coaco combination of Maxwell Suisse Mocha (sugar free) and Swiss Miss Milk Chocolate (with sugar). Lovely new apples. And pears.

Pets - Lib is resting, mose pointed at the refrigerator. Cats are either outside or in the basement or upstairs. We caught a mouse a couple days ago.

Farming- Combine is fine. Jim’s gone to town now to get a new wagon tire. Wagons are important to harvest too. He keeps them in good tires. He hauls the harvest to the co-op in town in the wagons and he doesn’t want flat tires - not that anyone WANTS flat tires but he really doesn’t. Part of our highway has been repaved this year and the shoulders have been graveled/smoothed/etc. but he’s concerned about them too. John is either coming this coming weekend or the next one to help. John is a good guy. Oh and the skid loader is now laid up. I do not want to talk about it. Maybe next time.

Filosofy - I walked out of Writers Group yesterday because of politics. I guess we are lucky we aren’t in the same room. I thought I might get a call from someone later but I didn’t. I don’t know if I will go back or not. It’s a lot of trouble just to get mad. But it’s the only thing I really do - the only time I leave home.

Memories - If I need an Exercise topic, I probably need Plants/Gardening one too. Yesterday Jim helped me plant a small sack of tulips and daffodils - Golden Cotton Candy Blend. We put them by the steps to the deck. It’s one of those neglected never really was flower beds. Joana suggested I have my garden there. Her blue hosta that spent a winter in my bedroom is planted there. I planted two sprouted potatoes there last spring but never looked to see if they had produced anything. The whole thing needs work. And I feel just a bit slightly inspired to do a little more poking in the earth. I cut back the dead dying pot plants. Some are going in the house, sone aren’t.

Status - Here and now is a circle we find outselves marching around. We aren’t getting anywhere but we are still moving.

Bye everyone. Have fun. Don’t think too hard. It’s not worth it.


Last updated October 18, 2023


gattaca October 18, 2023

I have difficulty with exercise. It's not a pleasant activity for me, but I force myself to do it.
I get the old people's blend flu shots Thursday. No Covid vaccines of any flavor to be had anywhere here. It's a repeat of what it was like in 2021 when there weren't any Covid vaccines either.
Be well!

Jinn October 18, 2023

Politics tend to divide so many people. I can’t be bothered to get mad over them most of the time. It does no good. I hope you do go back to your writers group. :-)

Beret October 18, 2023

My family has finished beans and started on corn. About 10% done as of yesterday.

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ October 18, 2023

Good for them. Bigger better farmers than we are, I guess.

Just Annie October 19, 2023

I hope the side effects to your shots are mild. I'm all boosted except for the new adult RSV vaccine. I want to talk with my NP about it first.

Purple Dawn October 19, 2023

I'm glad the combine is up and at it again.
Is your arm sore from the vaccines? I've been procrastinating on mine...

NorthernSeeker October 19, 2023

The Golden Cotton Candy blend tulips sound like they will be really pretty. I read Gabor Mate's book "The Myth of Normal". It helped me clarify some of my thoughts. He is very idealistic and I don't know how some of his beliefs could work out in the real world. I heard there was great demand for the soybean crop and I hope that helps out your farm.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.