Second Day in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 17, 2023, 10:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today is my second day at my new job and I’m sitting outside on the patio of a Starbucks while several other remote workers have meetings around me. It’s a little weird being two time zones away from my office, but I’m pretty sure I’ll get in the groove of this and figure it out.

It’s funny - they wanted me to hurry up and make my decision to accept the position on Sunday because they were going to lay off two people yesterday, but now they’ve decided to wait until Thursday and then they aren’t even going to announce ME until the following Thursday? It’s pretty weird if you ask me. I won’t even get an official business email address until then (??), but I did “quietly” start yesterday because I had to fill out paperwork (W-4, I-9, paycheck stuff) and sent that shit back in, so I am getting paid for quietly sitting on the sidelines and digging into the product line, etc.

My new boss is kind of anal, but he doesn’t seem like he’s even close to a control freak like Chief Cutie. We had a 2-hour meeting yesterday that started at 4:30pm my time where we walked through several things that have to do with team building (the Clifton Strenghtsfinder seems to be the be-all end-all for understanding co-workers and work styles) as well as calendar and email stuff (he looks at everyone’s calendars daily and he wants them filled out to show what you’re doing every hour, EVERY SINGLE DAY), so the thing to do is just fill it up, including making sure you take a full hour for lunch every day. He seems to be pretty good about not working longer than those 8 hours daily and told me to work 8-5 in my own time zone, though he did keep me on that call until 6:30 yesterday, so what’s the real answer? Not sure yet.

The kinda good thing is that before I get an official email, nobody can look at my calendar, and there’s not much for me to do except review product and where they stand with a bunch of things and get out and review the competitive landscape. My new boss also sent me this book to read: The First 90 Days. I’ve started it, but not getting into it. I’m flipping through but not super excited about it. Eh.

But I’m so, so relieved to have a freaking JOB. My anxiety all but went POOF yesterday, at least from the standpoint of actually being employed! I’m so glad that this happened when it did. I was unemployed this time for 14 weeks. Not terrible, but because I was unemployed for NINE MONTHS last year, I was going absolutely out of my mind! So I’m happy that I am here even though I’m not satisfied with what this is yet. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still going to give it my all, but I’m also looking forward to hearing back from that other company and looking for better opportunities.

I already love the prospect of having a sense of routine back. I got up early yesterday and today and did my workout and stretching and then showering and got ready as if I were actually going into an office and that made me feel decent.

Funny thing is, its finally FALL and the weather is wonderful and I decided to throw on some jeans yesterday and ugghggghhh. They don’t freaking fit. I mean, I could squeeze myself into them, but fudge!! I hate that! I really have to be committed to my morning workouts, stretches and intermittent fasting, so having this work structure is a welcome gift.

Okay, I better get a move on. I want to get out to retail stores for a bit and take some photos to put into a report and start going, going, going!

Here’s something funny to ponder - why do people think that they can have full-on meetings and speak loudly while sitting next to you at Starbucks? Like, even in an office setting, don’t you want to get up and move to a more private setting for a Zoom/Video call? This guy doesn’t seem to think that and is chatting it up in full volume merely 36” away from me. I suppose I gotta learn this coffee shop etiquette if I’m going to be part of the Remote Worker culture!

Have a fantastic Tuesday!
GS


Complicated Disaster October 17, 2023

That's one of the reasons I don't go to the office much - nobody likes it when I'm on calls all the time! xx

Amaryllis October 17, 2023

Wanting you to account for your time on your calendar every day is insane. That's LESS anal than Chief Cutie?? This is coming from someone who manages five people remotely in four time zones. I look at data to see if my team is performing and where they need to improve. Asking them to manually account for their time on a calendar...just ..wtf.

That said, I'm really glad to hear that this is a better place for you! You deserve good things! Hopefully that's the only nutty thing about this boss.

Ginger Snap Amaryllis ⋅ October 17, 2023

Yes, believe it or not, Chief Cutie was out of control with her control issues. She knew she had an issue and couldn't stop herself.

This guy is going to be super anal, I can see that, but he's so, so soooooooo much better than Chief Cutie already. I can't even believe I lasted five months with her. And yes, I'm crossing fingers that this guy is not a super nut case, but I can honestly tell already that he's better.

plushcreep Amaryllis ⋅ October 19, 2023

I was thinking this same exact thing. Having to track every minute like that would drive me insane.

Athena October 17, 2023

What are your tops strengths? I love Clifton Strengths.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ October 17, 2023

Here's mine...tell me yours!
1. Maximizer
2. Achiever
3. Individualization
4. Competition
5. Activator

Athena Ginger Snap ⋅ October 17, 2023 (edited October 17, 2023)

Edited

Oh wow! That’s the profile of a real go-getter! There were only I think like three people on our huge team that had maximizer first, and I was one of them.

  1. Maximizer
  2. Empathy
  3. Input
  4. Responsibility
  5. Intellection
Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ October 17, 2023

Haha! And it's so funny that the last company I worked for (when I was there for 10 years), didn't let me maximize!

I LOVE that you are a Maximizer as well! And look at that Empathy! I should have known :)

Jinn October 17, 2023

Wishing you much good luck with this position. It sounds demanding but if you made it through with the other one ; you can do this. I have every confidence. Who would ever think the day would come when people could do their jobs from Starbucks ? 🤦‍♀️ ❤️

Firebabe October 17, 2023

Congrats!

Interesting, I've never heard of Clifton Strengths, and I've worked in a corporate office setting for almost 30 years! The one that drove me batty was the Myers-Briggs stuff--must have taken that steaming pile of horseshit at least 20 times for various team things. The big one nowadays is the DiSC assessment.

The First 90 Days is a guide to help you build a 30-60-90 day goal plan for when you start a new job. It can be extremely helpful because it gives you areas of focus while you start acclimating to the teams and processes of the company. You can definitely create one for yourself, although most times the employer is the one who builds it out.

Also -- filling out your calendar with what you're doing all day...?!!!!??!!!!! BIG RED FLAG. That's a sure sign of someone who either cares more about appearance than substance, OR he's into CYA so if something starts to go south, he can claim that his people said they were working on it according to their calendars, so he can't be to blame! Hopefully this isn't the case, but it def seems sketch to me.

Ginger Snap Firebabe ⋅ October 17, 2023

Thank you for the congrats!

And yeah, I created a 30-60-90 day goal plan for the last job I interviewed for and it impressed the hiring manager and got me more interviews. But I bet with this guy he will probably want to make one for me.

And yep. Agree that the calendar thing is a red flag. He's super into it. I'll follow the baloney and his silly little color-coding for as long as I can take it...but also remain looking for my next/bigger/better thing!

sudare October 18, 2023

iM happy to hear the improvement!

colder October 18, 2023

Yay for workouts, jobs, fall, and anxiety poofing!

Serin January 03, 2024

Yay job!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.