Negotiations, or Nothing Is Easy in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 14, 2023, 9:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ughhhh. Why is negotiating for a job so stressful?!

In a series of stressful events, I’ve not only gotten an offer from the company I’ve been talking with (let’s call them The Cool Cat Company, or CCCo.), but I’ve negotiated my vacation, which was no biggie since they’d originally only offered 2 weeks and I asked for 3, and the title, which was pretty huge for various reasons, and I’ve even gotten a bit of a bump in salary, but it’s still a lot less than what I was making at Cutie Pie.

The pros are going to be that it is a work from home situation, which is still a little bit of a bummer because I like to get dressed and go into an office - BUT I can also consider moving if I want to. I still have it in the back of my mind that I might move back to my former city. Maybe? I guess I have a little bit of time to think about that.

The huge con is the medical benefits, of which CCCo. will pay 50%, and my part is still $550/month (!), plus a super high deductible and the highest out-of-pocket I’ve ever seen! It’s almost worth it for me to stick with COBRA from my last company - the difference in out-of-pocket and prescriptions, etc. is nearly $7K annually!!

Even with all of that, a job is a job is a job…and I need one (in addition to wanting one - I’m pretty sure that most of my anxiety will quell once I’m working again full-time). I will likely start either Monday or Tuesday since they are asking me for my absolute final answer tomorrow.

BUT!

For some crazy reason, and I’m not questioning it AT ALL, I was contacted by not one, not two, but THREE additional prospects yesterday - on Friday the 13th!

One company is probably not worth talking with since the job is based in Houston and it’s in-office and Houston is my unlucky city (tragic and horrible things have happened when I’ve visited there), and I understand the job doesn’t pay well at all.

One company’s top range is now $10K less than what I’ve been offered at CCCo., but their product is incredibly prestigious.

And one company I’ve talked with before and their VP of HR specifically asked the recruiter to reach out to me. I like this company a LOT. The job is right up my alley. It would also be remote with some East Coast and International travel AND their pay range STARTS at $20K more than the top range of CCCo.’s salary and I’m sure their medical benefits are much, much MUCH better than CCCo.’s

So I will accept CCCo.’s offer tomorrow in order to have a job (I know, I know…I did this with Cutie Pie, but I also know CCCo.’s players already - I’ve done work for them), and I will continue to figure out WTF I’m doing with my career.

WHY can’t anything ever be smooth, easy and seamless?

I think that’s what I’ll start manifesting next - successes that come easily

What do you think?
GS


Last updated October 14, 2023


CharminglyNeurotic October 14, 2023

Congrats! I'd definitely take the job asap -- even though it is a bit less than you'd like because of having to pay way higher medical insurance costs. But I'd still pursue the other. The good thing is that this job is WFH so you can easily still do interviews at the place that pays better and is up your alley and if you land it, take it and ditch on the other co.

Stumble Bee 🐝 October 14, 2023

Take it for now. Keep eyes open.

Satine October 14, 2023

Friday the 13th is a lucky day for women! Congratulations on the offer and yay for some other good options!

kiss kitty bang! Satine ⋅ October 14, 2023

Even in the movies, at the end usually a woman survives lol lol.

bobbi01 October 15, 2023

Yay for an offer. I'll never understand the medical insurance thing over there, but nothing is forever, you still have options.

Jinn October 15, 2023

Congrats on the one you are taking temporarily :-) and I hope the one that sounds wonderful makes you a great offer

sudare October 15, 2023

$550 is huge!

Ginger Snap sudare ⋅ October 15, 2023

Not only is it huge, but it's the worst benefits package I've ever seen! I am going to have to work through this in my mind and make it somehow work out to my advantage. Sigh.

pandora October 15, 2023

Good luck! Two weeks of vacation seems… I don’t even know. American, I guess! I’m glad you were able to negotiate more. I hope whatever you choose works out!

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ October 15, 2023

So freaking American. I got an extra week...which, we'll see if I'm even able to take it. Ha! It's all going to work out just fine. The biggest thing is that I'll be working again! Whew!

plushcreep October 19, 2023

Taking the job is the right move for sure! No harm in also seeing the other possibilities through.

Serin January 03, 2024

I hope that last opportunity develops quickly.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.