Today the 13th in These titles mean nothing.

  • Oct. 13, 2023, 5:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Time/Temp- Friday the 13th afternoon - 3:30 - cloudy, rain yesterday and overnight, Plants are still on the deck. Slightly frozen, most not all the way dead. I will need to make decisions soon. Or make the decision not to make discisions.

Wearing - Black - sweat pants, red long sleeved T, gray sweat pants, black hoodie from 2003 county fair 150 year anniversary, good gray socks. Hood up.

Watching - nothing. Slept last night, can’t remember anything else - well there was Duke of Suxxex’s crack about the chicken farmer wearing ostrich boots, but I’ll let that go.

Reading - a bit of Guns, Germs, and Steel by Jared Diamond, came out in 1997-99. It’s geographic history - remember? About population, epidemics, now and then and maybe in the future. Also a few pages of Ann Beattie’s 1995 novel Another. Both good books. I should devote more time to them.

Eating - crackers, pork chop, potatoes, Kellog’s K, apple, hard candy. Nothing to be very proud of.

Pets- Lib is asleep in her chair. Cats are outside mainly.

Farming- combine still being fixed, barn in same condition as last time with boards nailed on but no siding. Siding has been delivered though and seems to be the right color. Crew and boss have been here and seem to be adding ways to make the space more usable. Suggestions anyway. More rain already mentioned is way too late for this year but still good to have in the bank for next year.

Filosophy - So I sit at my kitchen table… looking at the face on the back of the magazine. I think I showed you it before.

d
S how deep is anything? Life? What we have left of it? What we remember of it? Deep enough but not too deep. I am here and you are where you are… and we can almost reach out and touch each other. Almost, but not quite.

Memories- yesterday we went to LaCrosse in the Ice Cream Truck to bring home the windows from Menards. Everything was pretty. The power plant at Genoa is almost gone. The river was full of water. We ate at the Crow. I had shrimp tacos. Yup. That’s what I had.

Status - I’m ok. I need to read the paper. A new New York came today. I haven’t paid to resubscribe yet, and it’s almost run out. I suppose I will pay. It’s pretty steep though. $160, if I remember right. Funny about our luxuries. We all have them. Hard to put a value on them sometimes.


A Pedestrian Wandering October 13, 2023

The corn looks beautiful.

Reading_Blankie 📚 October 13, 2023

How pretty the corn is.

Beret October 14, 2023

Beautiful corn!

NorthernSeeker October 14, 2023

Love th3e photos and the format. Creek edges are always interesting. Does Lib like to chew on corn cobs the same way Gracie did? My stomach is in turmoil from overeating yesterday...acid reflux too. What you ate wasn't too terrible.

Jinn October 14, 2023

I hope you rescued your plants !
Fall on the farm is always bittersweet . Pausing before a big sleep .

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ October 16, 2023

Sorry- a lot of them are dead. I wonder if I wasn't getting to the decluttering stage of plant ownership? I have a few to rescue... maybe.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ October 16, 2023

Hoping :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.