Stick it in me in Stuff

  • Oct. 12, 2023, 4:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So work gives me 4 free physio sessions, so I learned today. The ASM was back from holidays this week and was very quick at booking me in to a physio yesterday, even though my injury occured 5 days ago now and I’m now more mobile. He said they would contact me later that afternoon, which they did. He said it would be somewhere in my home area, but he wasn’t sure where exactly. Anyway, I got home and they did contact me, in New Farm. Not my suburb but not that hard to get to. I was booked in for 3:15pm. That worked out well, as I finish work at 2pm on Thursdays (on days I’m not asked to stay back), so I walked there, had enough time to grab a bite to eat at a nearby shop, and walked into the sports spinal centre.
Yep, it’s an actual sports science physiologist centre. The lady on reception had a foreign accent and was referring to all the clients as “athletes” over the phone. I mean, I guess all the clients who attend this place are probably athletes, so I felt special being classed as one HA!

Anyway, I had a lovely girl named Jasmine as my sports therapist. She was very fit. Like I don’t think she eats a single chocolate bar or burger lol. She asked me my version of events and how I was feeling now and such. Of course, a few days ago, my answers would have been very different, but now I was feeling much better and just a little tight really. I told her all my stretches I’ve been doing and walking each day. I woke up this morning feeling quite sore still, as I must have rolled onto my back in my sleep, wheras I’ve had to try and get used to side-sleeping over the past week, so I told her I was in pain because of that, but otherwise I was more tight than anything.
She asked how I’d feel about some acupuncture. I’d never had it done before, so I was up for trying it. She got me to do a few stretches and try and pinpoint where I was the tightest, and of course pretty much all of them were fine whilst being demonstrated. But hey, these sessions are free, so here I am. So I said I’d try the acupuncture and a massage, which is all I really figured would be beneficial at this point anyway.
The acupuncture was interesting! Has anyone tried it? I’m not sure what I was expecting, but somehow, that wasn’t it. Like a slight uncomfortable-ness? She did two in my right glute and one in my right lower back, then did one more in my left glute. The right back one hurt like a motherfucker!… Which is the exact result she was looking for. She removed it immediately. It was the only bit of pain I experienced otherwise during the session. The others needles were just uncomfortableness that I forgot were there after a while, and can still feel the after-effects of now. She explained it will feel like that for around 24 hours and then I should feel loosened up.
I can say I’ve tried that now. Only took me almost 40 years.
She gave me a lower-back and glute massage after that, which was as tight as I expected. Very cool experience though. We chatted about our Europe experiences. She wants to go back. She’s done Japan and I’ve done China (well, Beijing) so we chatted about that while she prodded away. It felt really tight when she was pressing down directly on the side on my hip on mr right side, so I think we’ve established the right side is a little more damaged than the left.
She gave me a ‘firm-ball’ to use at home. It’s more firm than a tennis-ball and more beneficial. Apparently I get to keep it. I wasn’t sure, so I asked her lol. So that’s exciting because I think it will come in handy for whenever I fuck up my upper-back, which happens every now and then because my body is a bitch as I get older. She showed me how to use it to dig-in to my lower back, and then a few more stretching exercises. The ‘childs pose’ was the one I’ve already been doing, but I need to do the ‘cobra’ as well.
I’m booked in again for next Thursday. Apparently that’s the only day she’s at that particular clinic. It’ll be a good excuse for work to not ask me to stay back as usual, I suppose.
I also feel I’ll probably be feeling back to normal by then, but Brande’ says to just use all four sessions anyway, since work has paid for them. Maybe I’ll just get a massage each time. I doubt I’ll need to do acupuncture again, but I hope to feel the benefits of that over the next day.
I feel it’s more of a legal thing for work, so they have records to say I went to a physio and such, so I’ll play along. I’m definitely still doing the stretches and sleeping on my side until I’m back to 100%.


kmh. October 12, 2023

Good idea to use the remaining sessions. Glad she was able to pinpoint the problem spot, and I’m even more glad it’s feeling a bit better!

TL October 13, 2023

I want to try acupuncture sometime.

Swanny October 13, 2023

I love acupuncture, massage, chiro ... all of it. Especially as I'm getting older.

s.q.u.e.a.k October 14, 2023

I got acupuncture/dry needling done on my lower back and when she took it out it was like super screwed up 😂 she’s like that’s what you’re muscles did to that

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.