MOHS Blows in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 12, 2023, 9:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday I had mohs surgery on my shoulder. That nasty ol’ squamous cell bugger had gotten bigger and crustier since the original derm did the biopsy. I can’t believe how fast a fucking skin cancer can grow! Watch your skin, people! It’s scary!

So, my friend C. came and picked me up and we drove the 40 minutes to the special dermatology office where they were doing this thing. Y’all. C. is such an amazing friend and I’m so lucky to have him. He INSISTED on picking me up at my place and driving me there and sitting in the waiting room until the whole thing was done.

We had enough time to go to a Starbucks and get some coffee and also enough time for my Valium to take effect (I was skurred) and by the time we got to the place, of course there was some issue regarding my insurance when I tried to check in…so much panic took place, which of course voids out all of the mellow from the Valium.

The thing about Mohs is that they essentially take a scalpel and scoop the shit out of your skin and then they send you back out into the waiting room to wait and wait until the scooped out junk is tested and viewed and whatever else they do to it back in some lab hidden away. And then if it shows there’s more cancer floating around in there, they go back in and slice more chunks of your body out!!

And after my first round, I go back out to the waiting room where C. is having business phone calls at full volume! Ugh!

Now, I love C. like crazy, but the dude can be super annoying and I felt so bad for all of the other people sitting in the waiting room having to listen to these business calls, one right after the other. But I was also so grateful for him taking me and waiting for me, so what could I say? I shushed him and he did lower his voice, but… yeah. It came right back up after a while.

Two good things happened after about an hour:

(1) The nurse came out and told me they’d gotten all of the cancer out on the first try!! And
(2) The insurance finally came through - thank goodness!

So I went back to the operating room and the doc (and yes, in case you’re wondering, he was freaking HOT, just like ALL my docs are) took his time sewing me up with two sets of stitches - one set on the inside of the wound and one set on the outside. I guess this is to minimize a raised scar. The outside stitches will disintegrate after about a week, I think. And the inside ones are supposed to be “massaged” out after about a month. That’s gonna be interesting!

And it looks like I’ll have about a 6” scar on my shoulder, which, I don’t care as long as this nasty skin cancer is gone, gone, gone!!

Again, wear your sunscreen, kids! Honestly, the doc told me that now that I’ve had this big ol’ squamous cell carcinoma the likelihood of more cancers popping up is like 40% (which makes sense because I had a basal cell carcinoma pop up last year, remember? It was tiny, though and was scraped and burnt off).

After it was all done and I was all sewn up and patched together, I took our sweet but loud C. to lunch for getting me to and from surgery safely. We had good old Mexican comfort food and my belly was fat and happy.

Then home to take my Tylenol and rest for a bit.

So far so good. I was allowed to take my bandage off today (after 24 hours), but I haven’t yet. I’m going to do that tomorrow morning when I shower. Confession: I didn’t shower today because I slept in a bit and then had to get ready for a video interview. I figured since I didn’t work up a sweat or anything that I was okay to not shower and mess with my incision.

Lots more to say about today - I’m right in the middle of heavy negotiations for this new gig I’m pretty sure I’m starting soon. Fingers crossed for the best possible outcome!

Thanks for all the good Mohs juju!
Love you to [sliced-up] pieces!
GS


bobbi01 October 12, 2023

Ugh what a process. So glad that is it though. Will the hot Doc massage out the stitches? Asking for a friend 🤣🤣

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ October 12, 2023

Hahah! I hope to never have to go back and see him. I will be in Mexico in a month, so hopefully some hot cabana boy can do it!!

Complicated Disaster October 12, 2023

UGH! ❤️ XX

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ October 12, 2023

Right?! But I"m so glad it's over!

pandora October 12, 2023

That is great news that they got it on the first slice!

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ October 12, 2023

I know! I was thrilled! I had a feeling they might have to go back in just because of the nastiness look of the thing, but it was sweet relief when they said they were all good!

kansasgirl October 12, 2023

Glad that cancer cell is gone, but boy does it sound awful getting rid of it! At least scooping it out is all you have to do and not chemo/radiation. Crossing all the fingers for the new gig!

Ginger Snap kansasgirl ⋅ October 12, 2023

I'm grateful that ALL cancer is out of my body now! No MORE!

Jinn October 13, 2023

Good news that it’s gone ! Heal up and have all good things from now on .

Perpetually Plump October 13, 2023

I was also fortunate and only had to have one round of MOHs. But it was on my nose, and it hurt like the Dickens. Extremely painful to have lidocaine injected into my nose, and then it was like hot fire on my nose for days while all those raw nerves were waiting to be grown over. I had to pack and bandage my nose daily, as they didnt close my nose. Then it had an overgrowth of the spongy tissue, and they had to trim that down in the office. Again, exceptionally painful. I was so depressed from all of this nonsense. Then COVID. Ugh.

That 40% increase in the likelihood of additional lesions applies to the first 5 years! I'm at almost 4, but I don't know what the odds drop to after 5...

kiss kitty bang! October 13, 2023

Happy for you. I'm glad you had a good friend to take care of you. Friends like that are worth any amount of minor inconvenience.

Ginger Snap kiss kitty bang! ⋅ October 13, 2023

You’re so right!

Nash October 14, 2023

Yeesh, another cancer battle. This one short and nerve wracking. Glad it worked out.

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ October 14, 2023

Yeah, the fucking "c" can suck it. I will knock that shit back, but I'd prefer it just not rear its ugly head anymore.

WhatDreamsMayCome October 14, 2023

Sending good mojo your way.

Serin January 04, 2024

Even more win. Delighted they got it on the first try.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.