Bend 'n snap in Stuff

  • Oct. 7, 2023, 4:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I’ve gone and fucked my lower-back up at work today, haven’t I? The ironic thing is that I wasn’t even lifting anything heavy at the time - just two light boxes of pudding that I was moving to the clearance bay to mark down lol. Fucking bravo, Matt!
There’s me doubled over in pain, too afraid to move a muscle when I felt that horrid twinge. I swear, back-pain is something else. I think I’d rather be kicked in the balls than this shit.
And of course this happened at the start of my shift. And the guy I worked with yesterday had called in sick. I wasn’t surprised, as it was just me and him yesterday, as three staff called in sick, so we were fucked. I too, should have called in “sick”, then maybe I’d still have a back. Anyway, so I was basically useless for the day. Couldn’t lift anything. I decided to just continue with the shelf-capacities and got that done on one side. There is only one side of one aisle left to go, and I assume thatr will be a next-week job. I think I already did that harder side. Anyway, was so thankful when my shift was over. I seriously contemplated going home early, almost in tears at one point, but stupid me fought through and was productive, wasn’t I? Ironally also that union members were striking today across the country as well. Apparently it’s the first time staff members of the company I work for have ever held a strike. I thought they would have many times by now, especially in the days when I was earning $8.10 per hour lol.

On Thursday, I went to the Kelvin Grove store and did my first-aid course. Yes, also ironic that I, myself, required a form of first-aid today when my back gave out lol. The instructor was pretty cool and didn’t make us do anything too hard. There was only one other person there with me, a girl. Whilst initially, we both arrived early and barely said a word to each other, she ended up being quite funny in the course. The instructor was like, “What do we do when someone has a snake-bite?”
She was like, “Suck it out!”
Ha!
Anyway, re-learned CPR and debribulating and bandaging (he even made teaching the sling quite easy, which was the part I was nervous about.) He did say that I was doing my compressions on the mannequin too fast lol. Too fast? I was trying to keep the bitch alive!
I did find it interesting that he doesn’t do the two-breaths anymore (only on babies, as it is still essential on them). I guess Covid-times really have changed things! Yup, it’s compressions only now. I mean, if the guy’s hot as fuck I’ll still be putting my lips on him. I joke, I joke.
I have since heard that the 2-breaths thing is still big in the USA, and it’s just different here now. Not sure how true that is, but I found it intriguing. We learnt administering epi-pens and asthma puffers and then did a scenario and we were free to go. So I’m re-qualified!
I had to go back to work from there, which sucked, but I was probably gone for about a bit over 2 hours all up, as I caught the bus there and back.

I was invited to an underwear party tonight too at a local gay bar. It’s the only place that does them, but since my back is fucked, I shan’t be going to that. I was kind of looking forward to being brave and forcing myself to go and have my night out that I’ve been wanting. But anyway, kind of relieved as well, as it’s not like it’s a lame excuse not to go. I don’t know if I’ll be going to work tomorrow or not yet. If I don’t go, I don’t get my penalty rates and just get paid a normal rate, but I’m also a cripple right now.

Agggh, why??


cazoob October 07, 2023

Yeah someone I knew had to give CPR to a guy in the city a few years back, pre covid, and didn't do the breaths (following 000 instructions). But he survived.
I didn't know it was still essential for babies though. Interesting!

Hope your back pain recovers quickly x

s.q.u.e.a.k October 07, 2023

I vaguely remember my last first aid course saying the same thing about breathes. Something about people being too hesitant with them so they worked out that as long as they’re giving compressions then that’s good enough.
I always find the snake bite part the worst. It changes every single time I do a course and I can never remember which way is the new correct way 🤦🏼‍♀️

KissOfLife! s.q.u.e.a.k ⋅ October 07, 2023

It's basically to stop the muscles from moving, so compress bandage away!

Swanny October 07, 2023

Get some anti inflammatory tablets in you and you should be right.

Crystal October 11, 2023

Ugh. I'm sorry you hurt your back. Hoping you're feeling better. That's interesting about non needing to do breaths anymore. I was CPR certified like... 21 years ago now. I haven't had a course since then.

Perpetually Plump October 12, 2023

I am currently bls, acls, and pals certified. This means that I can do CPR on you, defibrillate you, and administer drugs to you, regardless of what age you are. We absolutely do not do the two breaths anymore, as a standard. The only time we do is if you happen to have a bag valve mask on hand (like in a hospital...). Otherwise, compressions only and sorry about your oxygenation status. (USA).

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.