God, cats, and my hair (pics) in 2023 is almost over

  • Oct. 7, 2023, 1:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

12:29 pm
10/6/2023

The last two days have been a disaster. My wipers stopped working and it was raining. I wasn’t able to get to work and now I’m up to 4 out of 5 points. You get fired at 5. Half a point is supposed to fall off thia month, dropping me down to 3.5 points.

You get half a point for being late or leaving early, as long as you’ve worked half of your shift. You get a whole point for calling in.

Yesterday I went on that outreach trip to the Good Shepherd animal shelter in Eureka Springs. We got delayed in traffic when a van got flipped over. Someone crashed into it. So we didn’t get to help out with the dogs or anything. We got a tour and a meeting with the guy that runs it. Like he said, “Shelters should be the last resort” and that’s why they are making programs to help out people with their pets. So they don’t get abandoned.

They do their best to make the animals happy and comfortable, physically and mentally, but they don’t belong there.

I have noticed that no matter how good the animals are treated at shelters and the pet resource center that I volunteer at, the animals are always skinny. It doesn’t matter how much they eat, when I compare the cats I work with to my own cats, it’s night and day.

Bella is a skinny cat and she eats less than the cats I work with. The cats at the shelter and pet center have huge trays of dry food and wet food. They’re still skinny.

It’s stress. It makes me so sad. Not just the cats but the dogs too. It’s like jail but for pets. They need a nice loving home. I’d be skinny too if I was in jail. And I’m not saying the shelters are bad because they’re treated very well, but the animals need their own home to grow and be happy.

One of the cats at Good Shepherd bit me and drew blood, scratched our driver from Best Friends on the nose. Cats can do some serious damage, but it was more than likely over stimulated with all those people in it’s little cat room petting all the cats. It just wanted all the attention. It’s also part of the volunteer job and staffs job.

After that I had a meeting with a church to get some financial aid for this months rent. What was supposed to be a short session turned into a hour long session. They wanted to get to know me and could only help with $200 dollars if I get approved. Then I got asked if I’d like to go to church with them, join a life group of younger people my age and make some friends. I do not have any. I also don’t have a relationship with God and I told them that I am not spiritual. I just see things as the universe giving me hints. Like when I kept finding all those God cards all over the place and outside my car. I told them that I just saw it as the universe trying to tell me something. They said it was god trying to get me.

I’ll see what they’re all about. It’s a Baptist church and I’ve heard people say bad things about them. I’ll go. I could use some real friends.

I also ruined my hair yesterday. I was told not to pull on my hair and I did. I lost close to two inches of hair. I’ve been using leave in conditioner ever since I got my hair bleached the first time and it’s still… It’s not good. It’s dry. So I pulled in my hair and bits came off. I did that like a mad man and ended up with a pile of hair. Right after I used purple conditioner that turned my silver into purple!

God damn it!!

I’m this close to coloring my hair black and being done with this shit!

I do not recommend this!

Here are some photos of the cats at Good Shepherd.

alt text

alt text

And this is how long my hair was and here’s what I got left with after pulling on my hair. I lost like two inches of hair. Fuck this shit!

alt text


Kristi1971 October 12, 2023

"It’s stress. It makes me so sad. Not just the cats but the dogs too. It’s like jail but for pets. They need a nice loving home. I’d be skinny too if I was in jail. And I’m not saying the shelters are bad because they’re treated very well, but the animals need their own home to grow and be happy." So this....when I ran the boarding kennel for cats, dogs, and other small animals, I also had a separate building for the kennel animals. They were well cared for and safe, but - they needed a home. That stress.....it's just not right.

Dirty Numb Angelboy Kristi1971 ⋅ October 13, 2023

I do my best to help get them adopted when people are there. Talk them up and bring them around so they can get to know them. I'm happy my cats have a loving home.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.