Oh my in These titles mean nothing.

  • Oct. 5, 2023, 5:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have a list of complaints. I’m not sure this is the place to air them. But what the heck.

  1. Fayze’s is closing. I might have announced it earlier, but it’s important enough news to repeat I guess. We haven’t been up to say goodbye.......

  2. We were on our way to say goodbye to Fayze’s and pick up the last of our new downstairs windows- living room and room that leads to bathroom/vestibule. They each have double windows facing east. We had the Ice Cream Truck so we could haul said windows home.We got not too far and the steering wheel/seat started shaking so we turned around to come home. We made it home and the truck went to Larre’s for diagnosis and repair.

  3. or perhaps 2-A. That was a week and a half ago. Larre doesn’t think there’s anything wrong. Which is sorta good because it’s probably less expensive for him not to fix something than it is for him to fix it. But still.... We go to pick up the truck this afternoon, but the trip to get the windows and say goodbye to Fayze’s who I believe are still going will be somewhat fraught or maybe worse.

  4. The combine. Last year - I don’t expect you to remember but I’m pretty sure I wrote about it - the combine broke as soon as it got in the field in front of the house. Sort of a handy disaster. The axle broke or maybe it was just the wheel broke off. Kind of a definite mishap. Well that had a happy ending. A neighbor recommended another neighbor who came within a few days and actually fixed it - quick and well. So well that we took the combine to his place to have it ‘checked out’ and certain preventive stuff - I remember last year someone advised checking the combine out before using it which while probably well meaning advice wasn’t very welcome. So, anyway, the combine has been at this guy’‘s place since after harvest last fall. Jim has checked up on it repeatedly - he has a list of dates prepared if you want to ask. But we are well into harvest THIS YEAR and the combine isn’t fixed. Keep in mind if wasn’t even broken, but now it’s in pieces, etc. Also he has fixed the neighbor’s combine ahead of ours. Also keep in mind, we pay our bills. Oh heck.

  5. This isn’t a complaint but it’s a kind of nervous thing. The barn fixers are at work as I type. They have taken all the battens off- they were fancy battens - I should take a pictures - and the they have put horizontal boards all around the barn to fasten the metal siding on. The steel posty things to prevent the barn from falling down are in process of installation too. The crew is local - the boss is a friend of my brother’s. There are three latinos who are pretty much not local. I hate myself but I’m a little wary of them being here and knowing what goes on here, etc. I hate myself for it. It will be ok. I haven’t made my down payment yet. I guess we can afford it. I guess it’s the right thing to do. Ok, you get me. I’m nervous.

  6. I had a little flirtation with bit coin. I laugh as I type that. My so-called savings are enjoying higher interest rates. I laugh as I type that too. Oh well.

  7. I have a sack full of cans to take to the can place. That should return about $15 or so. I plan to buy some groceries today. I’ve taken a bath and washed my hair and put on clean clothes. I’m still barefoot.

A couple non-complaints.

  1. The silage project is done. We have one big bag of silage and one little bag that was left over from the last place the silage crew had been. That went well. We should have a lot of feed for the cattle over winter. The crop insurance adjuster came to look at the field the silage was from and said our yield looks good. Not the best, but better than we anticipated when there was so little rain.

  2. Dems had a fund raiser Sunday and I bought a pie that I haven’t eaten yet. It’s in the freezer for the next time the family from the north comes to visit. I look forward to cooking something, but pies are not in my wheelhouse. It’s apple.

  3. I watched a great movie on youtube the other night. ‘The Boys from Brazil’ based on an Ira Levin novel about Nazis cloning Hitler copies and sending them into the Aryan world to grow up to be...... the next generation of Hitlers..... I guess. Beautiful movie, Laurence Olivier played the old Jewish Nazi hunter - his last movie and he worked pretty hard. Gregory Peck was the Nazi Mengele, the doctor who did much of the medical evil in the concentration camps. There was small part for James Mason - who is a another great actor - and Lotte Lenya and Anne Meara and Lili Palmer. And the scenery!!!!! and the settings and the water planes and the European buses and trains!!!! It also had dogs. And lovely Mercedeses. Best movie I’ve seen in a long time. Came out in 1978.

I guess that’s enough. I might be leaving something out.
Wishes for good days and good times and happiness and good luck for you all.
See you again - soon.

I should go out and photo the barn transformation.


Last updated October 05, 2023


Flugendorf October 05, 2023

You just noodged me. :) I haven't thought of The Boys from Brazil in ages. And I see it's free on Tubi.

Purple Dawn October 05, 2023 (edited October 05, 2023)

Edited

Your barn is a treasure and has been such a big part of your life for many years that I think it is normal to be nervous about work being done on it. Having strangers on the place isn't something that makes one overly comfortable either.
I'd be angry about the combine too. I hope it is put back together quickly.
It's hard to lose favourite places, I wonder what they will do with the space? Will another bakery-type place open?
Take care,

NorthernSeeker October 05, 2023

Noooo...not closing Fayze's. You'll have to have a ceremonial final meal and that's sad. It's wonderful you have a place that will pay for used cans. Do they want you to wash and flatten them?

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ October 06, 2023

No washing or flattening. Thing is when we buy the 'beverages' we pay an extra nickel for each can that is returned when we cash them in. Well I think we get back four cents, but the can place gets paid a cent or two from the 'beverage' manufacturers too. We have had the can law for since the 1970s. It really cleaned up the roadsides. The can collectors want the nickel raised to a dime but that never seems to get done. The governor Robert Ray a Republican who served from 1969 to 1973 - google told me so - said the can recycling law was his greatest accomplishment. What a sweet and innocent politician he was.

NorthernSeeker woman in the moon ⋅ October 06, 2023

My bad...I was thinking of tin cans for beans, peaches, etc....those kinds of cans. The aluminum pop and beer cans are covered by a deposit system.. People scavage for them for income. I wish there was something that could be done for the other cans but I suppose they are too heavy for people to move them easily when they accumulate.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ October 06, 2023

I take my metal food cans - washed but not flattened - to the county recycling place. Also newspapers, magazines, and washed glass jars - mayonnaise and spaghetti sauce mainly. I burn junk mail and food packaging. And my abandoned furniture.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.