Video Interview Soon! *** Last Update in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 27, 2023, 3:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have a video interview in less than an hour and I’m sitting in front of my computer turning the camera on and looking to make sure I look okay and that my background (my actual kitchen and living room) looks cute because I’m interviewing for a product job with a home decor retailer, so I want to make sure I have a real-life background that shows a little of my personality and decorating style, and I think it does.

I feel like I’m pretty well prepped, but I think I’m going to put some last-minute blurbs onto some sticky notes so that I’ll be even more prepared.

I also have another interview/conversation tomorrow with another company that I’m a little less passionate about, but I have to do my best in every single one of these meetings because…it’s just fucking time for something good to happen, ya know?

Again, I can use the good juju!

More stuff to follow about the state I’m in, but I’m just tapping out some nervous energy before I’m ON!

Love,
GS

Update: You all are the best. Thank you soooo much for your encouragement. I gotta be honest, I don’t know that I WOWed the hiring manager, and I’m feeling so meh about the whole thing! The crazy thing is, I know nearly a DOZEN people who work for this company and I know of three of them who’ve put in a good word for me. So why don’t I feel it went over well? We did have a couple of technical glitches, and the interview did run over by 15 minutes, so that was good, but after it was over, I looked at my notes and kicked myself for missing a couple of questions I should have asked her. So I wrote a thank-you email and included the questions and THEN I put together a 30-60-90 Day plan proposal since this job is a newly created position. It was pretty general because I know they don’t have all of their processes in place, but I told her that I like to set goals, so I’m hoping that might give me a little bit of an edge. She did tell me she has four other people to interview after me…not sure if that’s true or not…but she wants to make her decision next week. And I thought that was kind of weird. Don’t you want me to come there in person for a panel interview or anything? Do they not do that?? I forwarded my thank you email to the HR person and asked him that. I can still use the good vibes, though, if you have some left. Thank you!!

Update to the Update: So yesterday I heard back from the hiring manager. She thanked me for taking the initiative to put together the 30-60-90 Day plan proposal and then told me that she wanted me to talk with the Buyer of this area and another Sourcing Manager and could she have some times for me to talk tomorrow (which is now today). I immediately sent her back some times (I am free all day, but of course didn’t tell her that), and then she wrote me back to say that she’d forgotten to ask me about my salary requirements. Now. I’d already talked salary expectations with the HR director and he’d given me some salary information that made me go, meh, but that I could also work with (it’s significantly less than what I was making at Cutie Pie, but fairly aligned with other positions that I’ve been interviewing for and researching and a number I can deal with if it will get me an IN at the company). And then the HR director was like, “let me double check this with the hiring manager - I want to make sure we are aligned…just in case.” Um…okay. Why wouldn’t they be aligned in the first place? To make this long story short, the hiring manager came back to me with a number that was $25K less than what the HR director told me. WTF. I wrote her back and said I’d already discussed the original salary with HR guy and he was going to confirm with me. So now I haven’t heard ANYTHING back from them!! GRRRRR. It’s mid-day on Friday.

Last Update: Hiring Mgr. came back to me and said, “Unfortunately, the salary is not in that range.” That’s LITERALLY all she wrote.


Last updated September 29, 2023


bobbi01 September 27, 2023

Go you!

Amaryllis September 27, 2023

This sounds like potentially a great fit! Best of luck!!

CharminglyNeurotic September 27, 2023

GOOD LUCK!

simple mind September 27, 2023

fingers crossed

Mr. Mofo September 27, 2023

Hope it went well.

Satine September 27, 2023

everything crossed!!!

kiss kitty bang! September 27, 2023

Good luck. Rooting for you.

sudare September 28, 2023

Fingers crossed!

Complicated Disaster September 28, 2023

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! GOOD LUCK!! xx

Nash September 29, 2023

I am sure you are going to nail it, you always do.

Jinn September 29, 2023

One person does not know what the other person is doing there :-(

WhatDreamsMayCome September 29, 2023

Cluster f**k. Similar circumstances allowed (caused) my earlier than desired retirement.
This is a bizarre economy.
Keep your chin up.

plushcreep September 29, 2023

WTF on that last reply! Maybe reach out to you instead and see if you're willing to entertain less instead of immediately writing you off??

Satine September 30, 2023

oh no

Complicated Disaster September 30, 2023

FFS. Sounds like they don't have their shit together so maybe bullet dodged! xx

Serin January 02, 2024

(grr) Awful convenient that the HR person was aligned on salary when it was just the two of you. I'm sorry.

Very cool about your 30-60-90 plan. It's a great way to show a new employer that you're not going to just sit on your thumbs.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.