Property Update #25- Survey Saga Continues in Tennessee

Revised: 09/26/2023 10:04 p.m.

  • Sept. 25, 2023, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

9/25/23-

We finally got ahold of the survey company. We have to go to a T DEC office in Cookeville, TN (hour and a half away) to get a subdivision/restrictions platt. It’s basically the soil map that was done officially printed & notarized up so that they can put them on the survey platt. And the environmental office can approve it. It cost $150 per Tract (🙄🙄🙄🙄) And could take 1 to 2 weeks. Or it might take a day, who knows. We’re forever playing russian roulette with this bullshit. Once its done, we pick it up, get some signatures and we get it to the survey company.

But.... they are working on our survey and have been this whole time apparently. 🙄… it would have been nice to know what was going on because we were looking at other companies. I had called another company that told us 45 days and $3,600 to do a completely new map. We have a time crunch because besties mortgage company needs the survey. Like yesterday. It would have been nice to get an email that they were at least working on it already. I called no fewer than 20 times and they of course answer when bestie calls from her phone.

They emailed me a proposal and it was of course all wrong, like they didn’t even bother to look at my proposal I sent in. So I got on the phone again. She said none of the parcels can be land locked. I told her I already talked to the planning guy several times. I explained that my proposal photo was done for a reason… that the home placements are non negotiable due to the terrain of the land. I’m not just doing this to make everyone’s job harder. And we would like the tracts to be as close to 2.5 acres apiece but we know it’s not going to be 100% exact. She said she’d call the planning guy who I’ve talked to 3x now … and he said yes but… and a bunch of stuff they didn’t understand. So they’re gonna talk to the survey owner/manager tomorrow because we have a non standard situation that they clearly didn’t look into.

We’re gonna be driving to that Cookeville office tomorrow afternoon. Probably to run into 47 more hold ups. 😵‍💫 not looking forward to it.


Last updated September 27, 2023


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.