Here we go again in Adventures in paradise

  • Sept. 26, 2023, 3:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have another 47hr workweek ahead of me. For someone who usually works part-time, this is rough, gurrrrl. But horrid-week was last week and now it seems to be ironing out the rest of the shit that’s gone wrong. I finally found out what hours I’m doing this week. I was just asked to come in today and tomorrow, but I had no idea about the rest of my usual week, as no-one from management had updated the app or told me anything. It turns out that this week, I’m doing Tues-Sun, wheras last week was Tues-Sat and I couldn’t work the Sunday as it would have been deemed illegal since I’d only had one day off in ten days. But I guess since I had two this week, it’s legal again? I just know I’ll be taxed through the arse, but nice to have a few weeks of bigger pay. Australia has the stupidest tax system - our money going in gets taxed, our money going out gets taxed, any profits are taxed, it’s just tax, tax, tax lol. And in a cost of living crisis, you’d think the government would be like, ‘maybe we should lay off at least one of the taxes, but nope!’ “Pay us, peasants!”

I just read the Premier of Victoria has resigned, so that’s interesting. Haven’t heard why. I just find it interesting he’s chosen to do it now, when he was getting ridden during Covid for shutting down the state for like a year straight. Anyway. Our QANTAS CEO had to resign early too. Everyone in Australia hates them at the moment because of all their dodgy shit - ie they were selling tickets for flights that were already cancelled.

Somehow I’m doing a few social events this week with friends, despite work OWNING me. Brande’ is coming over on Friday night for silverside. I usually always do that as a Winter meal, so it’s a bit late this year. And I have his Spiderman Playstation 5 controllers to give to him. And then on Sunday, I’ll be meeting up with Moe for his birthday. That one will be a rush straight from work, as I finish at 5pm and he’s starting it at 6pm, but really, all I need to do is sit and eat and I should have a few days off after that.

The store sure looks different at work with the aisles split in two. I’ve been nabbing the 80% bargains since I’m the one who has been marking them down. I brought home $65 of drinks today for $11 - score. The silverside I’m cooking on Friday was $3, usually like $15 or so. We just have to clear out all the stock we no longer stock and can’t transfer to other stores. If anyone likes Britex cleaning stuff, that’s all 80% off too. It could be good to nab some for a rainy day, as I haven’t tried that brand. I’ll have a look on Friday. An Asian lady took all the $10 electric toothbrushes that are usually $80. I’m sure she’s hocking them off on ebay.

I should have gone out last Saturday, since I had a rare Sunday off, but I didn’t, of course. I could use my long work-week as an excuse. My mind has definitely been playing a lot of gymnastics this week. Yesterdy afternoon, I went and sat by the river and played Anastacia’s new album (since I spent the previous three days playing Kylie’s new album non-stop) through my sunglasses, and it was really nice. Especially when I heard a familiar melody and realized she’d covered one of my favourite songs. Although her version of it sounded a little strange to me. I am so used to the beautful Declan Galbraith cover, but I did like that she used a children’s choir in it. I listened to more of her at the gym today and she’s covered “Forever Young: also, so maybe the whole album is cover songs (since ‘Best Days’ is definitely a cover of a German song), with a few I just haven’t realized.


~Octopussy~ September 26, 2023

I looked it up because I had completely forgotten about Anastacia. They tried to make her break her in America (her dreadful duet with Elton John and that HYSTERICAL Celine Dion duet where they had her singing metal), but it just never happened. Paris Hilton had a more successful music career than Anastacia.

KissOfLife! ~Octopussy~ ⋅ September 27, 2023

Wow! Really? She's had a few no 1's here.

Swanny September 26, 2023

What is worse is that we bailed out Qantas during COVID and rather than pay us back the shareholders made a record profit this year. And our reward, the low income tax bonus was removed and we all got to pay more tax.

KissOfLife! Swanny ⋅ September 27, 2023

Yeah! What an absolute joke!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.