Sunday Morning Live From the Coffee Place in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 24, 2023, 9:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

And now I’m sitting at my favorite coffee place tapping this out, sipping a half-caf drip coffee with nothing in it (fasting! More on that in a sec), and waiting for the live music to start at around 9:30.

I was supposed to be meeting my friend Diane (met through our mutual friend, C.) for coffee at her suggestion, but she got the vax yesterday and sounds like she’s down for the count today! I do worry about taking the updated vax knowing I’ll probably need a good day of recovery. But I guess now is the time to get it while I’m unemployed.

Ughhhh. Have I told you lately how much I HATE being unemployed this time? That’s a joke - I know you know this. But I seriously wake up every day in a state of panic just knowing I don’t have a source of income. And it feels a little bit (a lot) like I don’t have a purpose. Why do we place SO MUCH importance on our jobs?

The networking thing was fine. I walked in and immediately met a woman who owns a Chinese herb company that I found really interesting, but she was super aggressive. Now, I know that’s how networking events work - they are built for aggressive people making their moves and broadcasting who they are and what they do and what they want and need, etc. You really have to glean nuggets of wisdom or whatever and make it what you need for it to be, and I suppose the nugget I gleaned off of her is to be aggressive…and to get on TikTok. She told me that Gary Vaynerchuk has invested some cash into her company and he told her that she HAD to be on TikTok! After checking it out, she’s actually quite good at it!

What would I do on TikTok? Not sure.

In all honestly, I do have a TikTok page. I’ve used it to post my collages that I’ve played around with over the last year. Kind of a fun way to post a little bit of a creative outlet, but I really would like to think of something that maybe I can talk about. Like, maybe hiking the trails with your dog or something? Not sure how to monetize any of that, but…just some thoughts.

Also met another guy at the networking event who’s created a funny novelty product and sold it for a while, until the pandemic and I guess the product was no longer profitable. He’s working on another project and asked me if I knew any mechanical engineers. I told him that my DAD was a mech engineer. Ha! And he took my information and actually sent me an email asking if my dad would consider working on his project. hahah! You never know what you’re going to get when you go to these events!

Anyway, I started another one of those fasting-mimicking diets yesterday. Yes, I started a fast on a Saturday. I mean, why not? I literally have nothing going on these next several days and have had this fasting kit sitting in my pantry since before I moved here. I think they expire in like a year, so I needed to use it up (all of the foods you eat for five days are included in the kit). And these fasts are suuuuper healthy for you. All of the nutrition you need are in these space-soups and fasting bars. They supposedly help with cellular cleansing and they definitely help with mental clarity - at least for me they do! So I decided to start this one while I’m feeling like I need it.

Another reason I feel like I need it is that I got the results back from my skin biopsy. Yep, it’s squamous cell carcinoma and I have to get the shit dug out of my shoulder. Ughhhh. They don’t consider this serious, but it’s still a fucking pain to have your skin cut out when you don’’t really want to have someone take a knife to your shoulder, you know? This should supposedly happen within the next couple of weeks.

Sigh.

Always something, isn’t it? At this phase of my life, it feels like a game of Whack-a-Mole with my freaking health.

Okay. Jazz is playing on the patio now and I think it’s a good time to close.

Happy Sunday, y’all. Make it a good one!
GS


Complicated Disaster September 24, 2023

I'd never survive a fasting diet! I usually eat every couple of hours!! xx

bobbi01 September 24, 2023

My fav tiktokers are the simple day in the life ones. I skip anything that starts with "happy Monday" and anyone that calls themselves an influencer is instantly blocked :) Sorry about the biopsy results, is this a secondary cancer from what you have already been through?

Perpetually Plump September 24, 2023

I am not sure that I would particularly enjoy being unemployed, either. I definitely have a lot of my identity wrapped up and working and having something to go to work for and all of that jazz. It's probably pretty unhealthy in my part.

I had a basal cell taken off of my nose something like 4 years ago now. It healed beautifully, although the recovery was pretty painful because obviously having somebody stick needles in your nose and then scrape away layers of skin is not the most pleasant thing to have happen. I've always heard that basal cells and squamous cells are no big deal and nothing to worry about, but, and this is just anecdotal, my uncle had a squamous cell taking off of his head recently, which he had let sit there for way too long, and then about 6 months later he noticed a lump on his face that started growing at a highly abnormal rate. Apparently, that squamous cell had traveled to his parotid, and an entire hell has ensued for him. Just one more reason to stay on top of skin checks and to get shit taken care of ASAP!! I am glad you're getting your shoulder done soon, even if it sucks butt.

plushcreep September 24, 2023

Sheesh, I'm sorry to hear about your shoulder. I can't imagine ever being in the mood to have someone carve into me. Sending healing thoughts and positive vibes your way.

colder September 25, 2023

Well, good that they figured out what that thing on the shoulder was and that they think it will be straightforward. Goodbye Lumpy, you will not be missed.

At Last September 25, 2023

So sorry about your shoulder. Good news is you are addressing it quickly. You have had so much thrown at you the last few years, I can’t imagine how overwhelming this must feel. Never forget how strong you are and how many friends in real life and virtual are rooting for you and in awe of you.

sudare September 25, 2023

There are so many aggressive people in the world. I want to be less aggressive. :)

Satine September 26, 2023

Thinking of you. xx

Serin December 31, 2023

Well, crap. Glad they moved this fast, and I hope they can remove whatever is left nice and quick.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.