Refreshing in A new era

  • Aug. 6, 2013, 1:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is my first entry here. I'm not sure how I feel about it, it feels a bit like I'm cheating on OD. But seeing as the site is down, it seems a good as time as any to try this space out.

I jumped on the lifeboat long ago, when the first whisperings of OD going to pot began. I just haven't written. It's like betraying an old friend, I have seven years worth of my life there. Even if metaphorically I've packed my bags and moved out, having backed up all but my most recent entries because I couldn't bear the thought of losing them. I've been an exclusively online diarist since I began my OD seven years ago, and what a seven years it's been. Countless relationships, three years of nurse training, two years of work, two years and four months of my mum's cancer, treatment, maintenance, remission. Family, friendship, heartbreak, love.

I'm hoping, along with everyone else who's jumped over here I'm sure, to find the same sense of support and community here. I've accumulated a long list of friends and favourites over the last seven years and they've listened to me rambling when I haven't wanted to turn to anyone else, when I've felt alone and in despair. And they've offered comfort, and support, and words of wisdom, and even just virtual hugs that mean the world when you don't have the real thing. I'm hoping many of them end up here in the eventuality that OD does bite the dust. And I'm looking forward to adding to that list.

So, first impressions, I could get used to things here. It feels refreshing to have a new start. I'm undecided as to whether to transfer my old entries over here at some point or whether to just start afresh here, pick up where things are now.

I'm a little OCD so I'm loving the idea of being able to separate my entries into work life and home life, I'm always meant to reflect for work and I like to do it in my diary, rather than keeping a formal log, and just dig out an entry when I need it.

Hopefully this is the first of many little ramblings here, it feels fresh, it feels current and clean and I'm loving simplicity in my life at the moment.

Xx


hot-lips August 08, 2013

I've bookmarked you :) I'm also debating to transfer my old entries across. Not that anynone would read them I think, but maybe just more so for me to know that my life's memories are somewhere safe other than on OD. xx

Glitter and Trauma hot-lips ⋅ August 08, 2013

Same here, I bookmarked you when I saw you! I have all my old OD entries backed up to my hard drive, there's seven years worth of life in my current diary, I'd be so upset to lose it. Ever since OD started having glitches I've been backing up regularly! Xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.