Gratitude Journal Prompt #1- Write about a time when you laughed uncontrollably in My life

  • Sept. 24, 2023, 1:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sources: https://blog.gratefulness.me/20-gratitude-journal-prompts-for-self-discovery/

Decided to use journal prompts now to see if that helps me write more.

I think there’s being honest, vulnerable, and authentic about your struggles in life, about your desires and wants for things you don’t have, and then there’s being grateful about all that you have been given in life, including the gift of life itself. I think BOTH are necessary to have the right attitude about life. There is just a time and season for each. I think during this season in my life, I need to embrace more the attitude of gratitude… so these are helpful journaling prompts to get me to write, AND something I desperately need to do anyway.

On to the prompt, I guess… when I was little, I once read a book that talked about how some children were born both blind and deaf. That really sent chill up my spine, when that possibility occurred to me. I mean, we have the 5 senses– seeing, hearing, touching, smelling, tasting. Intuition is usually considered the 6th senses. The senses are the gateways by which we connect to the world outside us. Without our senses of seeing, hearing, touching, smelling or tasting OR our intuition, there would be no way for us to reach out to the world. Aristotle says, and it’s true, that seeing is the most important sense. You get the most information with your eyes. It’s funny how, provided you were born with all 5 senses of course, by seeing something you can kind of guess how they sound, smell, feel, or taste like; but you can’t taste something and figure out how they look like. But our second most important sense is hearing. Just think: a person who is deaf but not blind, doesn’t know music. This reminds me of this one philosophy presentation I went to at one point, which went essentially like this: Everything in the world. You name it, someone in the world hates it. Except for one thing: music. Some people hate companionship. Some people hate motherhood. Some people hate chocolate. EVERYONE loves music of some form or another.

I write on tangentials. That’s the sad thing. ANYWAY I just want to say that from when I was very young, I learned one way to control my laughing. Every time I started to uncontrollably laugh when it wasn’t appropriate to laugh, e.g. in a quiet classroom, all I needed to do was thinking about how there are people in this world who were born both blind and deaf and immediately my laughing ceased. It still works today. Yes I do know about Hellen Keller, too.

So I’ve hardly ever uncontrollably laughed I guess. So I don’t have an answer. There’s my answer to the prompt.


A Pedestrian Wandering September 24, 2023

It's unfortunate that children's impulses are curtailed so quickly. I suspect if you went back far enough, there might be a time when you laughed uncontrollably but it may be farther back then you can consciously remember. Speaking of, you may have seen this: https://www.tiktok.com/@mackenziebaker1507/video/7255046402290519323?lang=en

sadandlonelygirl A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ September 26, 2023

Awww what an adorable video, thank you!! ^_^

I suppose so. I still have all my 5 senses to be grateful for at least!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.