Pop up ads? I'm guessing they'd go away if I paid for a subscription. in The Big, Blue, House. Year two.

  • Sept. 20, 2023, 7:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

But at $5 a month, that’s comparable with what I pay Shudder, or Wyzecam, for a service comparable with Facebook or Twitter X, both of which are ad supported, without pop up ads.

I’m really sorry Mochi, but if this keeps up I’ll start using an adblocker here. Then you won’t get any ad revenue from me at all, the thought of which makes me physically ill. This site legitimately needs the ad views, and I intentionally don’t use an adblocker here. But pop up ads aren’t something social media sites use, and it seems a bit much.

Going forward, I’ll do my comments and entries with an adblocker, so as to not be annoyed while I’m trying to type, and then click through a few times without it, so Mochi still gets some ad views, and I don’t feel like a heartless bastard, but it probably won’t be as many views as I gave them before. ❤️‍🩹

Maybe the $5 is a bargain, for alleviating my guilt.


Jodie September 20, 2023

Isn't there a free ade blocker?
Try one of these?

https://www.google.com/search?q=free+ade+blockers&rlz=1C1VDKB_enCA1068CA1068&oq=free+ade+blockers&gs_lcrp=EgZjaHJvbWUyBggAEEUYOTIJCAEQABgNGIAEMgkIAhAAGA0YgAQyCQgDEAAYDRiABDIJCAQQABgNGIAEMgkIBRAAGA0YgAQyCQgGEAAYDRiABDIJCAcQABgNGIAEMgkICBAAGA0YgAQyCQgJEAAYDRiABNIBCDU1NTdqMGo3qAIAsAIA&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ September 20, 2023

I have Ublock on my computer, and Brave browser on my tablet. The $5 is the subscription cost for Prosebox.

I don't use adblockers here, to try to help the site. Going forward though, I probably will, because pop ups are annoying, and I think a bit much.

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ September 20, 2023

Oh okay..
Why don't you have the free version?

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ September 20, 2023

I do! The $5 is the cost of a subscription to Prosebox. 😁

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ September 20, 2023

I know that but it can also be free?

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ September 20, 2023

Now I'm confused. Lol

Ublock is free. Brave browser is free. Prosebox is $5, and now has pop up ads. I was coming here without an adblocker, so they would get my ad views.

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ September 20, 2023

why are you paying $5.00 for something you can have for free?

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ September 20, 2023

I'm not? I'm seeing pop up ads because I don't pay for Prosebox. I come here without an adblocker so my ad views can help support the site.

My first two sentences are about how I don't think Prosebox is fairly priced, so I try to support it by seeing the stupid ads instead.

My point was that pop up ads are too much. I wouldn't be seeing the ads, and therefore wouldn't know about the new pop up ads, if I were paying. 😁

Deleted user September 20, 2023

I use adblock plus on mozilla it blocks the majority of ads. adblock plus is free.

Asenath Waite Deleted user ⋅ September 20, 2023

The $5 is the cost of a prosebox subscription. I've got Ublock.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.