Day one of hell week in Stuff

  • Sept. 19, 2023, 4:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am only on Day 1 of my 6 day work-week and I am wondering how I’m going to get through it lol.
I did have a complete insane person decide to join me on my lunch break outside today though, which was fun. She looked like a bag-lady of some sort, maybe Aboriginal. I tried not to even look at her whilst she screamed in delight and laughed her arse off at nothing. Well, it wasn’t at nothing - I was drinking a bottle of juice and she found that absolutely hilarious. Doubling over with laughter.
Meanwhile, I haven’t said a word and am just picking at my blueberries and drinking my juice, hoping this woman isn’t going to suddenly produce a knife.
Nope, kept laughing like Cruella and eventually bothered some other person nearby.
Nutters. I wondered if this is what happens on Tuesdays when I’m not there.
I actually managed to record some of her ranting and sent it to Brande’. She was laugh-screaming, “I’ve got sexy legs! Sexy legs!!!” by that point.
She really didn’t.
Drugs are bad, mmkay.

I had to work with a store manager from a nearby store somewhere (Belmont, wherever that is) and she wasn’t exactly happy that she had to do the job we were doing, as she thought she was done with them. First impressions of her was that she was a bit bitchy, but she probably thought that about me too. Turn out she was okay. Jury’s still out lol.
Anyway, we had to go through and scan all the gaps, and if said it was coming in, to leave it, if it wasn’t, to create an order for it, and if it woudn’t let us do that, to type it into a laptop she had with us. Then send off the order, and the items it wouldn’t let us order, to take note of those and also input in the spreadsheet to the people in the Matrix. I could see there were about 5 other people logged into that computer, as I could see their avatars, who I assume could see what products we were typing into the spreadsheet, and were hopefully the solution to the problem items.
So today was all of the chiller, tomorrow will be the freezer, then onto the grocery aisles. Tedious and gradual, but oh well. After that, I had to help sort out pallets of perishable stock that we are sending to a nearby store (there are three) as well as mark down another two pallets of stock to 80% off that we aren’t sending because they don’t have a long-enough use-by date, and we aren’t going to stock anymore. Customers were having a field-day, upon seeing that I was marking down $30+ packets of lamb/sausages/chicken etc for $3-$4 etc. And there were hundreds of products. They just all went into the gaps, and were mostly gone in no time. I managed to grab a few leftovers on my way out. There were still a few left to mark down but I ran out of time, and there were three of us all marking shit down at once. Considering I’m there all week, I wasn’t staying back. I dread to think how many freezer lines there will be, but I think I was prepared enough for this over the last few weeks, so it should be minimal.

The regular, mostly older customers who have been coming to us for 20+ years aren’t exctly happy. They are very set in their shopper ways and we are no longer stocking a lot of their favourites. It’s a bit sad actually. But we just need to get through this chaotic week and hopefully we’ll be able to order in their favourites again, as that process is meant to be a lot easier with the new brand. Time will tell. One woman screamed at us today that she’s been coming here for 20 years and will now be going elsewhere. Bless. Cya love, nice knowing ya!
The store is starting to take shape - namely the bakery has all these new tempting, fattening products, like fresh Portugese tarts and croissants baked fresh each morning. I may have to do some more cardio at the gym if I start scoffing down a few of those.

I had to come home and refrigerate my bargains and then go back to the gym today, but that’s okay. It allowed me to change into my fancy Skechers. There was a hot guy on the rower next to me. Why do hot people need to be at the gym? Maintenance? Then of course he started doing one-legged squats in front of my machine. Sometimes my ED is a blessing LOL. My eye’s were enjoying the candy. Think Connie from “Bad Mouth” saying “Bubble-bath” but ‘Bubble-butt” instead :P

At leasy these shifts seem to be going fast, and I’m doing an hour less for the rest of the week, I just won’t have much of a life.


TL September 19, 2023

I miss eye candy

s.q.u.e.a.k September 20, 2023

Portugese tarts are the best 😱

Zampano September 20, 2023

She sounds like your version of Baron Samedi from the James Bond flick Live and Let Die. It's totally a thing: an intimidation thing for not giving her the respect she believes she deserves from you.

Hell Weeks Suck! I'm sorry you are looking down the end of that barrel. When it happens to me, I make sure to get my time out, whether it's Hot Yoga at a gym, or coffee and a book out at a bookstore. Those kind of weeks can be terribly taxing on your psyche.

Good Luck!

KissOfLife! Zampano ⋅ September 21, 2023

Thankyou. Plodding along!

~Octopussy~ September 20, 2023

I remember having to do those kinds of markdowns. I hated how organized I was because I was very good at it... which meant I always did it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.