The artificial tree prepares for lift off, and T.V. series reviews. in The Big, Blue, House. Year two.

  • Sept. 17, 2023, 10:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We’re switching the tree that I just leave up from summer to fall, and for a few minutes I had both sets of lights on, just for funzies. Prepare for lift off:

alt text

I think next year I’ll move it to the porch or the top floor. Don wants real trees for Yule, but personally I’ve always hated cut flowers, or in this case an entire cut tree. Just watching something gradually die in your living room would be depressing, I would think. But we can get a lifelike tree, anyway. The current one is a Vickerman “twig tree”. Don sings, “Oh tweezle tree”. It looks half dead, with hundreds of brown “twigs”. I dig it, but he’s suffered long enough.

~~~*~*~~*~~*~~*~*~~

I have been thoroughly unproductive lately. I want a couple of the illustrations from the Frog And Toad series for the second floor bathroom. I’m thinking little vintage style 5x7” oval frames. So I wound up reading two children’s books to Don. I can’t tell if he actually enjoyed it, or just tolerated it. I loved those books when I was five. Now everyone seems obsessed with the sexuality of the author, which strikes me as strange. It’s tragic that both he and his partner died with AIDS, long before LGBT rights became mainstream, but whether kids should read the books should be more about the stories than the person who wrote them. I mean it’s not like kids are even going to know he was gay, unless someone tells them. And they’re great little stories.

alt text

Then we attacked the aforementioned tree, and watched more of The
Last Of Us. Explain to me how the fungus is supposed to be surviving the northern US winter? I’m reminded of The Walking Dead. Magical antagonists, like in From, work well because they defy explanation. But a story even loosely based on science should have a modicum of rationality behind it.

I enjoyed the last season of Disenchantment quite a bit. It’s unfortunate they had to cut it down to just the one, but I’m glad it had some kind of finale. We watched that over several days, three episodes at a time. In fact I liked it so much, I may rewatch it all at some point. I’m disappointed there isn’t more merch. I don’t care for bobbleheads, why not some tee shirts, people?

Edit: There are tee shirts! Most awesome.
https://www.amazon.com/Disenchantment-Officially-Licensed-Luci-XX-Large/dp/B09P1TCDC7

From was fun. Dumb, but fun. Victor might be the best autistic character I’ve ever seen. I love that he’s bullied, he’s an outsider, but he manages just fine on his own. Here’s hoping it keeps getting renewed, so the story can have a conclusion.

Elizabeth snoozing:

alt text


Deleted user September 20, 2023

ewww cut flowers are given to the dying. i feel the same about all dead things like dying trees to .

Asenath Waite Deleted user ⋅ September 21, 2023

Thank you!

Sleepy-Eyed John September 20, 2023

Disenchantment looks fun. You find all the cool shows!

I remember that cartoon. There's a book called Borrowed Time about the author's lover dying of AIDS in the 80's. Really good.

Asenath Waite Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ September 21, 2023

I found the book. It looks incredibly sad, but I'll give it a go.

Disenchantment is a lot of fun. I think it's on Netflix.

Sleepy-Eyed John Asenath Waite ⋅ September 21, 2023

I think you'd like it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.