RAD: Super Happy Guy in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 17, 2023, 2:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The last of my later-RADs. This one happened two weeks ago:

Name: Super Happy Guy

Introduction Platform: Bumble

Age: 52

Relationship Status: I can’t remember? I know he’s single for sure, but I can’t remember if he said he was married and divorced?? I do know for sure that he never had kids

Job: Event marketer (fun!!). Interestingly enough, he told me he’d been laid off three weeks earlier, but immediately got a new job (whyyyy can’t this happen to me?!) and they didn’t want him to start until three weeks later, so he’d just come back from a trip to Columbia (!!!)

Lives: Up-and-coming area that’s super cool - very close to downtown and an area I’d love to live

Length of Date: 4 hours

We Did: drinks and snacks on a patio of a place he really didn’t like, but the place we wanted to go was apparently booked up solid. Funny enough, I’d forgotten that we’d changed locations and I went to the original location first and it was nearly empty (???), but it caused me to be late to the place where we actually had reservations. Ughhh. Annoying, but according to the Super Happy Guy, it was no biggie at all. I really liked that about him - he seemed happy about everything. And all of his pics in his profile were all smiles and he seemed like a joyous human being. I loved that!

He Looked: Nice. And happy! Ha. He’s not as handsome as the last couple of guys I’d been on dates with, but the happiness overshadowed all of that and I liked him the most of all. I actually felt chemistry…and that had nothing to do with looks!

I Looked: Sundress and hat.

Convo: Our families, our upbringings, our lives so far. Our travels. Lots and lots of fun

High Point: I got tingles! I felt chemistry!

Low Point: I don’t think he did.

How It Ended: He walked me to my car. Quick peck and a “I’d like to do this again” and a nice goodbye

Chances Are: Probably not since our texting has since faded away…

Date Rating: A. Honestly loved it. What’s not to love about a super happy guy?

sigh


Athena September 17, 2023

Good energy > good looking

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ September 17, 2023

Agree!!!

WhatDreamsMayCome September 17, 2023

I'm glad you had a good time. Sorry it didn't go where you would have liked.

CharminglyNeurotic September 17, 2023

For this one, bluntly ask him out again. See if he agrees. It's worth one more shot if he'll meet up

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ September 18, 2023

Going to!

bobbi01 September 17, 2023

Yup, chiming in with the text him gang. You deserve to be cheerful too :)

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ September 18, 2023

Right!

Sugar Magnolia September 17, 2023

He did just start a new job, maybe he’s distracted by that. Text him that you would like to set up an event: dinner with him.

Ginger Snap Sugar Magnolia ⋅ September 18, 2023

Could be! I've heard this a lot, so I'll send him a text when I get up the nerve!

sudare September 18, 2023 (edited September 18, 2023)

Edited

Feeling chemistry sounds good.

Ginger Snap sudare ⋅ September 18, 2023

Chemistry is so important!

Deleted user September 18, 2023

From everything I read on relationship forums, I get the vibe that if you want to see a guy again, you need to step up and ask him, and the older you get, the more that becomes true. They take texting with no request to see them again as a sign of no interest. That's the thing about being a woman over about 45: The dynamics change. If you want a guy, you have to be proactive.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ September 18, 2023

Hm. I guess it really has been about 10 years since I've truly been super interested in dating. Makes a little bit of sense then, since I'm never, ever the aggressor.

Deleted user Ginger Snap ⋅ September 18, 2023

I hear you. To me, it just seems like more work, only for a situation that will bring me, well, more work--emotionally, mentally, and physically. I just don't have it in me for US-style dating. I've yet to meet a man who didn't make my life more difficult or stressful in some way, and to my thinking, if a partner doesn't make one's life easier, or at least not more complicated, what's the point? But you knew this. Nine and a half years since I went on a date, and I don't miss it one bit.

plushcreep September 19, 2023

At least you keep getting out there and trying. You strike me as a pretty joyous person too!

Serin December 31, 2023

I hope this guy resurfaces as I catch up.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.