What's the Worry? in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 16, 2023, 2:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

What a lazy Saturday - where did the day go?

Well, for one thing, I slept until well after 8am. I hadn’t planned to do that, but I woke at 2am with a worried brain and it took me quite some time to get back to sleep.

What’s the worry, you ask? Oh, you know. The obvious job stuff. Of course, the work stuff.

But then there’s a dumb lump that popped up on my shoulder that I’m freaking out about. I have a dermatologist appointment, but it’s not until I go back to [my old city] for all my doc appointments and my 2-year CT scan in early October. Fingers crossed there.

But back to the skin thing, it’s a nasty looking raised spot that looks like a giant cyst. I took a pic and sent to my doc and he thought it looked like an epidermoid cyst and prescribed antibiotics, but when I showed my pharmacist, he thought it was a wart (???) On my shoulder???

Regardless, it’s bugging me.

Then, I’ve decided that I can’t let my parents worry me so much. They are old and are gonna do what stubborn old people do! My dad took my SIL’s car to some weird dealership two hours away from where they live and got stuck! Told me he had to pee so he got out on the highway to piss on the concrete barrier. WHAT?! Didn’t get home until well after dark, and he can’t really SEE in the dark!

Y’all.

I mean.

He was fine and all, but it just seems like he’s going to keep doing shit like that because I think it makes him feel alive! He wants to help my SIL get a new car and he’s also shopping for a new car for himself and my mom (since mom has trouble getting in and out of their current car).

These are the things that keep me awake at night!

Meanwhile, I’m struggling with this depression. I know it’s situational and it’s going to go away as soon as I get myself into a settled place with work and all, but this particular bout is a doozy!

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy my own company. I am fine with being alone and all…

But I have been ALONE alone for a good, long time now. It’s been YEARS since I’ve had a romantic relationship - someone I go and do things with on a nearly daily basis…someone I go to bed with…someone I touch.

I’ve spent years trying to stay away from people so as to not get Covid while going through cancer treatment and even afterwards. I’ve spent years trying NOT to touch people!

And now I feel like I need other humans so desperately.

Not going to a job has been very hard on me. Not being around people has been huge. Not having human touch? It’s been torturous.

And Bumble dates aren’t helping me that much. Maybe I’ve forgotten how to flirt?

OK. I need to move around for a bit…
Love,
GS


Phade September 16, 2023

epidermoid cyst

I think I had one of this a few months ago under my chin like, hiding in my facial hair so I didn't notice it for a while. And when I did, I thought it was just an overgrown pimple so I just left it alone. After maybe another week and a half, I did the whole, 'if it doesn't go away in a week I'll go to the doc' but it eventually did. If I could guess it might have hitched a ride on my face for around a month and change.

Jinn September 17, 2023

You have had a lot of stress , for quite awhile now. It would make anyone a little down . You seem to handle it better than most other people I think. You need a new close friend and a guy friend. In that order. :-)
As for your parents . Hopefully they have enough sense to stay safe . It’s not fun getting old, it just beats the alternative .

Complicated Disaster September 17, 2023

❤️❤️❤️ xx

sudare September 17, 2023

People are getting more stubborn as they get aged. I wonder if there is a way to stop me being stubborn.

WhatDreamsMayCome September 18, 2023

This is why my daughters don't want to see me getting on ladders when I'm home alone.
Practice, practice, practice! ;-)

Serin December 31, 2023

I know my parents are processing aging very differently. I think accepting that it's their journey is the thing that will be the key for me, though right now my mother increases my hair loss as she makes me pull my hair out.

And yes, touch is important.

Serin December 31, 2023

Oops.

Touch is important, and the years of pandemic messing up every instinct and habit for us touching people is a dreadful loss.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.