What's Happening? in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 14, 2023, 3:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hi everyone! I’m deep in the throes of creating my consulting package to present to the founders of this startup tomorrow. Guess what I’ve realized while working on this project?

I don’t want to be a consultant!

And because this is my first project as a consultant, I allowed myself to take the job on a project basis vs. an hourly one and I have spent ALL week worrying about it and trying to put things together and erasing things and messing with it and messing with it and now…I’ve put in many, many hours of work for not that much money.

And I’m freaking LONELY! I do not like this one-person gig at all.

Sigh

And I still need to finish and schedule time to present it tomorrow.

Meanwhile, I still owe you three RADs (spoiler alert: they all seem to have ghosted, but I want to write it all down anyway for posterity).

And my fantastic friend C. is out of town for two weeks! He’s in California to see his girlfriend (weirdest relationship ever) and I seem to have run out of people to do things with because I’m not out and about or dating anyone.

Not only that, I haven’t really been social anywhere. Not here, not on Insta or Facebook or in person.

I have been frantically and furiously networking like my life depends on it (because it really does!).

And I miss my LIFE.

I miss it desperately.

What good is it when you don’t share it with others?

GS


WhatDreamsMayCome September 14, 2023

Sharing is everything. Hoping you can share all that you desire.

Complicated Disaster September 15, 2023

Dating sucks! I hope they are impressed with your project! Xx

plushcreep September 16, 2023

Yes, life is better when it's shared with someone. But there are also some nice benefits to being on your own. I suppose it's all about balance. Hope you find yours.

bobbi01 September 17, 2023

It's a good realization to make about the contracting, before you dived in.

sudare September 17, 2023

I like networking online/offline AND I love being on my own! :)

Serin December 31, 2023

It's okay that consulting is not for you. It's a different headspace, and yeah, it can be a lot more isolated unless you build your own team or associations with your own set of peers.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.