Matteo in Adventures in paradise

  • Sept. 11, 2023, 3:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went to the Matteo Lane gig last night - Italian/Mexican comedian from NYC, for those who don’t know. As he is a gay man, the entirety of gay Brisbane was in attendance. These events seem to be the only places I see the gays in my city these days.
He’d put on an extra show, at 5pm, after his 8pm show had sold out, so that was nice, and meant I could go. It just meant I had to start and finish work an hour earlier, as I normally finish at 5pm on a Sunday.
So I stashed my bag with a change of clothes at gym and walked there. I didn’t want to run into anyone I knew. I just wanted to see the show and go home, so tried to time getting there as close to 5pm as possible, as doors had opened at 4pm, but the line was still pretty big, so I had to brave the gays for at least 15 minutes. I just hate it cos I’m always by myself at these things and normal gays are with their friends who have been gay-drinking all day and are screaming like banchee’s in the line. I should learn to just wear a hijab or something so I can sneak in without being detected. Big venues aren’t so bad, but it’s too easily to be seen at a small venue like the Tivoli. Ironally, it’s the venue I saw Taylor Swift at back in 2008 lol, obviously before she was huge. It holds something like 5000 people. I still remember her sparkly guitar and being excited that she’d sold it out. And she only put on ONE show.

Anyway, I was surprised the Rhys Nicholson was hosting, as he’s a funny Aussie gay comedian. The middle act wasn’t funny at all (apparently Mateo’s straight room-mate who is a recovering coke addict), but Matteo was as funny as I thought he’d be. He was trying out new material for us, as comedians like to do that with crowds they don’t know, and most if not all the jokes landed, including one where he asked if any Mexicans were in the crowd, and one lone voice in the crowd said, “No.”
Like wtf? Who answers ‘No’ out loud to that? LOL. He was like, “You all heard that right? Bitch running a census at the entry door.”
Anyway, he said he liked Australia and was very impressed by our coffee and can’t wait to get back here the first chance he can, so good he had a good time.

As I left the venue, I crossed paths with Chris, although like most hot guys, he pretended not to see me lol. MAN he looked hot. He was in total black, jeans and singlet, with white shoes. The gym is certainly paying off for him, as that butt in those jeans was fiiiiiiiine. Good thing about hotties ingoring me is I can still perve on them, right? :P Nah, he seems nice, and gave me a hug at Josh’s birthday that time, but it’s pretty much the only interaction I’ve had with him. I’ve just heard that he’s a stoner and a top, both of which don’t really align with me, but damn he’s cute. I could probably try bottoming again - it’s just been a while :P Plus he’s tall like me so we’d probably match well, in that regard - ankles on shoulders and all that jazz.
I didn’t see anyone else I recognized, although a guy I know, Sheldon, was also at the same show I was. He’d messaged me after seeing my Facebook check-in, but the show was starting so I didn’t respond until afterward, nor did I see him, as I took off pretty fast after the show. It had been another long day, and I was kinda glad I couldn’t get a ticket for the later show. I am getting old haha.
Sheldon agreed that he didn’t think the straight guy was funny. He thought he was trying too hard.

Anyway, that’s all about interesting that’s been happening. There’s lots of stock missing at work in the lead-up to changeover, and customers aren’t happy, naturally. Most are friendly though. Definitely a good time to pick up bargains with all of our deleted lines. I’m going to enjoy these days off, because as of this week I have to do 9 out of 10 days straight, as that’ll be changeover week, and probably chaotic, but at least it’ll keep my mind busy, which can only be a good thing.


Last updated September 12, 2023


Sleepy-Eyed John September 11, 2023

:)

~Octopussy~ September 11, 2023

A hijab... I'm dead.

I never went to events that gays tended to go to specifically because I didn't want to see giant swaths of people I hated. You totally did what I do with the black singlet guy (btw, I have no fucking clue what a singlet is because in America that's a one-piece wrestling bodysuit and I'm pretty sure that's not what you meant).

I'm glad you enjoyed Matteo, but part of me feels guilty for liking him and hating all my friends who act just like him. I feel like I should just give Richard $50 to say bitchy things instead...

KissOfLife! ~Octopussy~ ⋅ September 12, 2023

I think Americans call it a wife-beater? Interesting name... It'd def not a one-piece bodysuit here lol.
Hahahaha, yeah he's very much a bitchy gay.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.