RAD: The Lion King in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 9, 2023, 7:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Finally. This is the first of FOUR long-overdue RADs I owe you guys!

Name: The Lion King

Introduction Platform: Bumble

Age: 57 (but I figured out he was lying and is actually 67)

Relationship Status: Divorced, I think a couple of kids if I remember correctly

Job: Retired Air Force guy who did a lot of work in the defense industry previously and now the head guy at his local/community Lions Club (hence, the Lion King)

Lives: Way too far away in a town that’s like an hour drive. For great chemistry, I’d consider that drive, but…

Length of Date: 4ish hours (it was so long ago, the time is a little blurry)

We Did: Dog walk on the city trail and then he followed me to this dog event at a historic location I’d read about on a dog-friendly website. They were doing some kind of dog-friendly thing that was a bit of a dud because it was so freaking HOT outside and miserable.

He Looked: Tall, old. I honestly can’t remember what he was wearing, but he brought his sweet dog. He’s one of those people, though, who doesn’t control his dog on walks and his dog was all over the place, making people and bikers have to move around him - sometimes very quickly and annoyingly. Not a great look.

I Looked: Casual sundress and sneakers. Hat.

Convo: Meh. Like, I didn’t relate to his Lions Club community activity stuff. I mean, it’s great that he’s so involved in his community - I do love that stuff. But it just wasn’t something that I was super invested in listening to since his community is an hour away. Is that mean? It just wasn’t hitting,

High Point: Sitting out on the lakefront patio with a coffee

Low Point: He was pushy without really being pushy if that makes sense? Very nice guy…but pushing seeing each other again

How It Ended: He’d followed me to this historic site that was about a 10 minute drive from where we walked. I think we hugged? I know we didn’t kiss and I was very vague about seeing him again, though he seems to think that I was absolutely positive about seeing him again.

Chances Are: I don’t think so. Again, it’s not that he was all that bad, but I didn’t feel chemistry and he got pushy. Over the next several days, he kept texting me about how he’d found my Instagram and he was looking at all the pics. Then he friend requested me on Facebook and then he texted me some more about going out again. I was telling Best Bud about him at one point when she was at my place and I looked him up and found him and his age (and that’s how I figured out he’d lied about his age)

Date Rating: C-. Very meh.


CharminglyNeurotic September 09, 2023

Yuck

Jinn September 09, 2023

Ok but not a winner :-)

WhatDreamsMayCome September 09, 2023

I dated a couple women, before my marriage, one lied about her age. The other lied about not being a smoker.
Why start any relationship on that leg?
RAD’s are a good insight into what not to do!
(Not that I’m looking for any advice!). 🤓

colder September 10, 2023

Eh... lying and being pushy / social media stalking and it's a no, for me.

plushcreep September 10, 2023

If he lied about his age, what else is he lying about? Next!

Serin January 01, 2024

It's a clever name, but he's not cool enough to own it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.