Byron bitch in Adventures in paradise

  • Sept. 7, 2023, 2:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My third day in Byron was rather boring, as I only had to kill time between checking out at 10am and my bus at 4pm, so I wandered around for far too long, and looked up the movie times to see if any of them would suit. There were two that would have been cutting it fine, and the third one worked out well, so I decided to go see that one, despite not knowing what it was about other than reading the synopsis.

It was a Korean-American film, and it started out incredibly boring. I was contemplating just going to sleep. And I should have. A fat, middle-aged lady with a walking stick suddenly shouted at me, “Stop shaking your leg!!”
I hadn’t even realized I was doing so until I heard her screeching at me. I indeed was. A reflex, I suppose. I guess it could have been vibrating through the seats to where she was? I was already annoyed because the stupid chick at the front counter had given me a seat that was right next to someone who was the only other person in the cinema when I walked in - either that, or she decided to sit in my seat, so obviously I didn’t wanna sit near her, so I saw elsewhere. Unfortunately for me, Jabba The Hut decided to sit in my row also and I had to listen to her screaming at me like a banchee.
I shouldn’t be fat-shaming, but she really pissed me off. I found myself on the verge of telling her to firmly ‘Fuck right off, bitch,” but I didn’t. I was a tourist. I only had to put up with her for the next hour or so, then I was the one who’d be fucking right off. Instead I apologized and said I hadn’t even realized I was doing it. She could have been a bit more tactful though, instead of somewhat ruining the end of my Byron trip.

The rest of the trip had been nice though. So many cars stopped to let me cross the road, when they didn’t need to. The guy in the newsagency was friendly to me after this incident with the woman. I’d only gone in there to buy a bottle of water, as there were no vending machines at the bus interchange (seriously??) and I was not getting stuck on a bus without a bottle of water, as I know they can make me feel sick sometimes, especially ones with no opening windows, like all coaches seem to be these days.
Thankfully no-one was seated next to me on the bus, although the bitch in front of me reclined her seat the whole way, basically putting my knees behind my ears ^rolls eyes^. Thank God she got off at the Gold Coast Airport stop but didn’t even put her seat back upright when she departed, so I had to lean over and do it myself. Man, women were certainly testing my nerve yesterday, I tell ya what!

Anyway, back to the movie - thank God it improved from the first boring half-hour or so. It was called “Past Lives” and tt ended up being a pretty decent story in the end. As for a potential ‘Best Picture’ nominee like the synopsis said, yeah, I dunno about that ha! It also said I’d ball my eyes out. It didn’t do that either. Lies! Cute enough to pass the time I guess though.

I was glad when the bus got back to Brisbane. I walked home via the post office and picked up Brande’s PS5 controllers, which had arrived whilst I was away. So I had a lot of stuff, two bags, plus the rather big box. Of course it was then that I saw Haze walking out of the gay bar (which is across from the post office) on his phone and smiling. Of course he looked fab. He must be visiting from Melbourne or something. I thought about saying ‘hey’ but was a bit self conscous with how much I was carrying plus I’m sure I looked like shit, so I didn’t, and just walked by him. He probably didn’t know it was me as he was on his phone anyway.
I saw on Insta later on that there was some sort of TikTok event happening there last night, so that explains that, since he was on some music show that was on that platform recently.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.