Changes in General

  • Sept. 6, 2023, 9:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, I’ve been trying to change some small, daily bad habits into better ones while the bigger picture has been relatively stable. But I found out the bigger picture will not be staying stable for too much longer. Big surprise. My manager is getting transferred to a new store after more than four years here, and I don’t know much of a difference that’ll make yet. Some, certainly. He’s got some thirty years experience, and has easily been my favorite direct manager I’ve had in a very long time. The new one coming in has been a manager for about a year. I go from a manager I have a great relationship with (who’s about 10 years older than me) to an up and comer I don’t know know who’s about 15 years younger than me. So it should be interesting.

Plus, my primary coworker is stepping down to once a week at the end of the month, and we do not yet know who will be replacing those shifts. That, combined with the new manager, leaves potential for my schedule to be all over the place, which I’m not excited about. I’d just finally acclimated to the last series of schedule changes early this year. So, we shall see.

The bigger one is that my landlord (I rent one side of a duplex) told me two days ago that he’s going to be putting the place up on the market next year. My lease is good until mid-March, but that’s effectively a deadline by which I need to make some choices about where to relocate. Do I stay in the same general area? Do I move closer to some friends who keep asking me to? Do I move closer to my family, especially now that my younger brother has a baby? Beats me… I honestly had planned to start thinking about that next year, with basically one more year staying here. That isn’t an option now. So a lot to think about.

I’ve been seriously considering getting back into yoga classes or some exercise ones locally, but now I may put that off until I figure out the moving situation. Plus, I do really need to swap out most of my furniture for something newer as a lot of mine is on its last legs. I definitely need a new mattress. The move will likely force my hand on some of that sooner than I’d wanted to. But, it needs to be done at some point.

In the meantime, my landlord wants to send in a team to repaint the interior soon, so I have to figure out a couple of days to get out of the place. I’m taking the week after Thanksgiving off to go see the family, but that’s likely farther away than he’s wanting so I’ll have to figure something out that could work sooner. Thankfully, I have some time off work coming up in just a couple of weeks. Worst case, I go grab a cheapish hotel or AirBnB or something else for a couple of days during that time. We shall see.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.