The good and the bad.... in A Day in the Life of Me

  • Sept. 4, 2023, 7:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ooopps .. long one.. hadn’t realized it has been so long…

Welp. There hasn’t been a peep from ex-younger co-worker since the last entry. So that’s dusted!

We had about half a dozen interviews - none really fit the bill, except one. They made her an offer and she excepted. Downside was she couldn’t start for 2 weeks.. I was due to go on vacation in one..

I offered to delay, had absolutely no problem as we weren’t going anywhere or has any major plans, but they wouldn’t let me.. said they had a solution…

I don’t like the solution lol

One of the guys they interviewed, they reached out to him and offered him a week term to covery vaca… I had two days to train him… I offered again to delay.. I did not think it would be enough time… Even for the handful of things he would be doing (Answering calls, scanning and saving).

According to Older coworker..he forgot everything by Monday morning.
Might also help he didn’t take a single note the two days we had…

I popped in on the Friday…had to go by anyway.. and older was having issues with the postage machine, so went to see if I could fix it… found out while I was there… New hire recalled her acceptance of the offer…
They are temporarily keeping the week- hire until the end of September, because younger partner is on vacation for 2 weeks .
Older co-worker.... Omg it’s been hilarious.. she hates him.. he infuriates her like nothing I’ve ever seen! Lol he apparently don’t listen when he’s being shown something, even if he’s asked to be shown.. he wears the same shirt and with black or slate grey JEANS evry fucking day..... I think the only reason they haven’t said anything is because he’s ‘temporary’.
Older is terrified The will end up keeping him.

I had to tell him to sit up last week.. he is covering my desk for lunch everyday… I had to go back out to it one day last week for something for Older… He had my chair leaned back so far he basically was laying down…
Like… How unprofessional can he even look.... Sloppy dressed, and leaning back in my office chair like he’s home on his PC gaming…and he wonders why he got passed over originally..
I hope they find someone as soon as Younger partner gets back…

In good news.... when I got back from vacation, a couple days after, they pulled me into the office to let me know that they were very aware, and thankful and impressed with all the extra work I have/had been doing, trying to help out Older coworker, and help the two lawyers who were left assistant-less, since the unplanned departure… And as such they gave me a raise!
And this past week, I got an envelope with a card, once again thanking my for all my extra work and efforts, with 2 $50 gift cards! One for a restaurant, and one for Michaels!
It’s nice.. having a job that actually sees you .. if only ex-younger could have realized that instead of being the toxic employee she has was..

Though now.. the tables are slightly turned and neither Older, not I want this guy here any longer than necessary....
Might help if he could look and act professional.... Ugh


Babe In Toyland September 04, 2023

Nothing worse than a colleague who won't pull their weight. I have one of those, but he does just enough not to get into trouble about it. Pain in the arse!

Canadian Lass Babe In Toyland ⋅ September 07, 2023

We just keep reminding ourselves that he's temporary and that that he'll be gone in a month and we'll be starting all over... hopefully...lol .. even senior partner was having a minor join in on our bitch fest yesterday...lol

Zombie Kitten September 05, 2023

Tell him to get with the program. Shape up or ship out. Nice gift cards too... that Michaels one looks great. Buy some sketchpads, pens, y'know??

Canadian Lass Zombie Kitten ⋅ September 07, 2023

He's not a permanent hire, so he'll hopefully be replaced soon with a more competent employee... It's hard finding those atm..
They also got me that one card because i do alot of stitch work and now I can stock up on more supplies for holiday crafts/ shows 😄

Bomb Shell November 16, 2023

Wow I'm sorry I'm waaaay behind but well done on a good job and being recognised for your efforts!

Canadian Lass Bomb Shell ⋅ November 16, 2023

It's okay I know you've been crazy busy and had a lot going on! Thank you all the same!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.