Update on the ongoing Niece drama, with screenshots. in The Big, Blue, House. Year two.

  • Aug. 28, 2023, 9:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I asked Half Sister for perspective, and got it. No, she won’t be coming here. It pains me greatly. I’d dearly love to have the girl I remember here, and I cling to some fragment of hope, but it doesn’t sound very likely.

The conversation:

alt text

alt text

alt text

I still have to message the Niece, and I absolutely dread it.

We’ve been homeless, with relatives who wouldn’t help us. I don’t want to be that person. But Don’s right, we’ve never been addicts, or suffered from serious untreated mental health issues.

The whole situation just breaks me in several different directions.

I genuinely appreciate all of the comments on the last post. You people are awesome.


Deleted user August 29, 2023

What a hard decision to make. I don't envy you and I'm lucky in the way that I don't have family that need help in such a way. I have cousin's but both are doing well and I'm glad for that.

Asenath Waite Deleted user ⋅ August 31, 2023

Same thing here. No idea what to say to this. That doesn't mean I don't want to talk to you, just that I'm unsure how to.

Good for you, that your family isn't a train wreck, I guess?

Jodie August 29, 2023

Where you live can the police take her to a menatal hospital and force her to stay there for some time? I mean if she is a danger to herself and others then she needs to get help?
But I think that she will say whatever you want to hear till she gets there then she won't be welcome anymore so maybe it's best not to even ask her to come and the rules you would set would make her go off the deep end. You do know you don't have to give a reason other then "NO"

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ August 29, 2023

She could be committed, but how varies by state. It generally takes two close relatives to sign, and our family is spread out across the country, in different states. I'm in Ohio, she's still in New York, with her mother. Whoever she's close to would have to do it there. Why no one has yet, I have no idea.

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ August 29, 2023

Question? Do you get along with the relitives in New York? Maybe you can ask them why she isn't getting the help she needs?

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ August 29, 2023

I tried talking to her mother several years ago, and she "ghosted" me, as they say. No idea why. I'm autistic, I'm used to people taking me the wrong way, and disliking me for reasons I don't understand.

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ August 29, 2023

question? What difference doe sit make if you are autistic or not? You still have feelings and can talk to others?

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ August 29, 2023

Beats me. From my perspective, it's like having an invisible "kick me" sign on my back. I've been bullied my whole life, at school, in college, at jobs, in public at bus stops. People just generally don't like me, and like to make fun of me.

It sucks. A lot.

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ August 29, 2023

I am so so sorry...I always thought Autisic people were smart in alot of ways?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.