Frittering and Figuring Out in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 28, 2023, 4:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

From a walk on Saturday with Mrs. Sherlock. I didn’t plant any zinnias this year and the Helenium’s never came up. I talked her into a modest walk as even though she is testing negative she is all stuffed up and her sense of smell and taste is coming back s-l-o-w-l-y.

Her dog Frieda is healing on mass doses of antibiotics for her abscess. They have both lost weight. Not a plan I would recommend. It was great to see them both.

My cardiologist wants me to start taking blood pressure readings. I am trying to get him to lower the dose of a medication he increased recently that has led to swelling in my feet and ankles. Bleh. I have an at home cuff ordered and on the way. And I got a pair of compression socks yesterday.

But still…I would prefer not to be one of those old ladies. Mrs. Sherlock is terrified of having to use a mobility device in the grocery. If I were to become disabled, I think I would prefer that to the alternative, but still we hold out for being as healthy and mobile as possible.

I need to get some stuff done. I frittered away most of the weekend. Resting, listening to podcasts and a series of lectures on ancient Greek history and yesterday I went completely off the deep end and binge watched a season of a new police procedural that is set in Tasmania called Deadloch.

It was recommended by a book critic I admire, and I was totally hooked. It is kind of like if Barbie was very dark and funny and full of quirky people, a number of whom are lesbians. Characters, and character development unlike most I have seen, including a Martha Stewart type. As I was telling my students this morning if you are offended by swearing this is not the show for you. There is a lot of creative rapid fire swearing and I highly recommend subtitles, so you don’t miss the humor. Who can resist a show with a fur seal named Kevin?

I have always wanted to go to Tasmania. I was grateful to a number of you for helping me understand the climate and also the differences as one of the main characters hails from Darwin.

The trees are full on turning now and today it is overcast and misty. Not cold, but we might get some much-needed rain this week. That will be so helpful.

I am ready for the seasonal turn now that I am back in my place.

Friday, I had my teeth cleaned and my blood pressure was fine then. Very exciting, I don’t need to go back to the dentist until January! Yay.

The new monitor just arrived so I best get going on figuring out how this puppy works.


Last updated August 28, 2023


Zipster August 31, 2023

I wouldn't call that "frittering", I would call that a mental health day!

Jinn September 09, 2023

What kind of blood pressure medicine makes your feet swell? Yikes!
I am with Mrs Sherlock with mobility devices. 😂 I depend on the carts in grocery stores. If I have one of those I am fine. I should take my walking stick with me but it’s a pain to remember. I remember it when I realize I do not have anything. Short distances walking is ok for me but not any long duration ; especially if I have to carry anything.
Now I want to look up information about Tasmania and Deadloch . :-)

noko Jinn ⋅ September 09, 2023

The medicine is Amlodipine. I have negotiated with the cardiology nurse over the last few weeks and was able to cut my dosage back as long as I check my blood pressure everyday. It has only been two days but my feet are better. She kept saying...if it is tolerable and I am like I would really prefer not to have the swelling...

Jinn noko ⋅ September 09, 2023

I do not blame you !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.