Finally! in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 24, 2023, 12:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The light in this photo I took in the garden a few days ago seems right to me. It has an underwater quality and I love the balance between the colors, imperfect as the dahlias are.

A few weeks ago, I went to see a photo exhibit by one of the old guys in the coffee group and he said point blank that phone cameras are not up to the quality of traditional cameras. I didn’t argue. I don’t have that argument. It was interesting because all his pictures were of people in Cuba. Some in 2016, and some earlier this year. In almost every picture from this year the people in the shots were holding phones.

This is a guy dedicated to his cameras. He prefers black and white, and we talked about how, you know, Cuba! It is known for its color. So, about a third of the photos in the exhibit were in color.

I guess I am not serious enough about my photos to go down the dedicated camera, competitive rabbit hole, with the lens and the classes, and the travel and… I am more interested in what I am seeing and if I can share that. Imperfect and subpar as my iPhone camera might be. An amateur. I am okay with that.

Yesterday I finally got the crown I have been waiting months for. What a long elaborate journey this part of the dental extravaganza has been. I have a lovely new to me dentist, also a faculty member and everything went smoothly and for the first time in 18 months I have a complete smile.

For a person who looks at herself on camera 5 days a week at least this is a gift.

I also had my eyes checked. My oldest sister had a number of issues with her eyes that are genetic in origin, so we are careful about regular exams. I tell you though, getting one’s eyes dilated at 10:30 AM on a bright late summer day, wow. Note to self…do that later in the day.

The League Board Retreat on Saturday was fine. The hardest part was trying to remember people’s names, as there were 16 other people there, many of whom I had only seen in person informally at the annual meeting in May. It was busy in the very Portland restored elementary school pub where we had it. No one, I saw no one wearing a mask. As it is now five days later, and I am okay I feel like I am lucky to not have been exposed to Covid. It was a risk.

Mrs. Sherlock admitted yesterday in class that if she had contracted Covid before the vaccines and antivirals she most likely would have died. Everything interacted with everything else, and she was one sick person the last few weeks. Of course, she is out bike riding today. It is in her nature to push herself.

The sweet pea seed pods are browning on the vine. I will take them down in the next couple of weeks but wanted to make sure I have fresh seeds for next year. The Cosmos are all this beautiful cheerful orange. Fall is firmly on its way even though we are heading into some more late summer heat.

And sadly, more local fire danger. Sigh.

Now, I am off to meet with the old guys and take a little break from teaching and appointments and pondering the state of the world.


Last updated August 24, 2023


Deleted user August 24, 2023

Great photo!

I don't see the argument between phone and traditional cameras, but that phones put decent quality into everyone's hands for everyday use. That said, I think film, dark rooms, and chemical development are relics that are entirely too time-consuming and not all that healthy for humans and the environment. I think a good digital camera used by a knowledgeable photographer is the ideal. But I'm not a photographer so I can't speak to what experts consider to be quality.

Glad you've got a full smile again!

mcbee August 25, 2023

Your phone must have a great camera because your pictures are always gorgeous!

Jinn September 09, 2023 (edited September 09, 2023)

Edited

I really did not take many pictures until I got my iPhones . Now I love to photograph things. It seems to me that the quality of the pictures is good but maybe I am not a good judge.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.