Let me share some sky... in These titles mean nothing.

  • Aug. 22, 2023, 6:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

One in the middle is not sky but the product of sky. Sunshine.

It’s hot here today. Tomorrow is supposed to be hotter and then it’s supposed to get cooler. There’s been talk about moving the air conditioner into one of the living room windows. After the sun gets on the other side of the house. Can’t fix the roof when it’s raining.

Oh my what else?

I intended to talk about my weight and my eating. I just had a talk with Jim. He said I’m not moving enough and I suppose I agree. I started gaining weight when I stopped making my 100 trips through the house. There might have been a connection. Seems like a year ago I started the house walks about now or maybe next month in an attempt to get good numbers for my December doctor appointment.

So.

I suppose the logical answer is to start my house walks again. I don’t have to do 100 to start but it would be nice to work up to it. I think it didn’t take me long to work up to it last year.

I’m eating too much. I’ve started eating cereal. Kellogg’s K. A bowl. A teaspoon of sugar. A splash of milk. Not once a day, but several times a day. In fact right now, I’m thinking of having a second bowl of K.

And I’ve been buying candy for Jim and eating it myself. And I’ve been eating cheese and crackers for myself and the great Libby.

And then there’s what Jim says I do. I make frying pans full of food and then eat them all. He’ll eat some of it sometimes but not a lot and not all the time. So I eat it. What’s in the pan? Meat and veggies, a little rice, a little pasta, sometimes. I eat a cup then I eat another cup and then I eat another cup. Doesn’t take long to eat a whole panfull. Panful? Pan full? Pan empty actually.

My feet are swelling. I haven’t taken my blood pressure in a long time. Maybe now would be a good time? I weighed myself this morning and it seems like it was a large number ending in zero - 180? Gosh I didn’t say that. Did I?

Ok. 147/88 145/89 Not awfully either good or bad.

I don’t test my blood sugar. My numbers and behavior were so good in January that I got the doc to cut my diabetes dosage and my cholesterol med in half. I didn’t change the blood pressure med.

But now I’m gaining weight and my blood pressure is not perfect.

So.

What should I do about it?

I should start going up and down my cellar steps again. I should count my trips with bottle caps and write the numbers in my yellow notebook.

Oh well. It’s my life. I’m 77 years old now. I used to want to die at 78, but now that that’s closer I might want to live a little longer.

Plans.... I plan to go to town and go to one bank to get my IRA withdrawal and take it to the other bank to put it in my checking account. Then I want to go to the barn fixer’s office and look at the color samples for red metal siding and give them a check. Then I might as well leave another check for property taxes in the drop off box at the courthouse.

Oh and stop at the library and try to print off an application for Jim to apply for another term in Planing and Zoning. I’m not sure why that’s part of my job but I’m not sure of a lot of things.

Life is this rumble strip of surprises.


Last updated August 22, 2023


NorthernSeeker August 22, 2023

When you make your mind up to do something it gets done. For me it is easier to make myself exercise than to cut back on eating...but sometimes it is the other way around. Those stairs would probably be good for Abby, too, if she wanted to accompany you.

A Pedestrian Wandering August 22, 2023

You said it "Life is this rumble strip of surprises."

Purple Dawn August 23, 2023

I refuse to own scales. I threw out 2 sets. To hell with it.
That list never gets shorter does it ?
Take care,

Just Annie August 23, 2023

Lovely sky photos! I really enjoy photos of the sky. The real thing, too, of course.

I could eat Cheerios with a spoonful of sugar and cold, cold milk every meal for every day. As long as my cereal doesn't get too soggy. I don't like soggy cereal.

gattaca August 23, 2023

Your sky photos are beautiful!
I would certainly never tell you what to eat or how much, we are all grown up here, I think 😁

However, I would recommend a high-quality multivitamin once a day.

Rivercity August 23, 2023

Your door looks exactly like many doors in my house. Do you have a Sears house? My house was built in 1920. (Your sky is also beautiful.)

woman in the moon Rivercity ⋅ August 26, 2023

This house was built in three stages ----stone basement and two rooms in 1895, a two story basementless L or T added, and then sometime in the 1920s they kind of built a second story over the original one story part and added a room. The door in the pic was either of the second stages. My folks bought it in 1950 and did not add to it = my mother said she liked the house because it was big but it didn't have a lot of windows - she believed in curtains. In the 50s my folks had a laundry room dug under part of the last addition, and that's the last structural change. We tore off a rotting porch and added a deck in the 1980s. God almighty. It's an old, not very well taken care of house. I've lived in it all my life except fourteen years - 1946-1950, 1965-1975.

skyy August 24, 2023

i dont know that our souls will miss our shells

Jinn August 26, 2023

I don’t exercise but I should. It feels like I am busy around the house but I know that is not enough. I don’t eat much . I seldom get hungry though; probably because I am not active. I have not weighed myself the last three months. Everything fits the same . I need to work on these things. :-)

noko August 27, 2023

Thank you for the sky. And the house picture. I think about food and exercise all the time. I wonder if there is a happy medium? It seems some people are capable of that. I doubt I am.

Beret August 28, 2023

I walked by the gym the other morning and saw someone using the stair stepper machine and I thought to myself as long as I live in the house I am living in I will never need to pay to climb stairs. You should resume your walks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.