The last few days.... in These titles mean nothing.

  • Aug. 17, 2023, 12:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I almost went to church. Tuesday the 15th was the catholic holy day of obligation Feast of the Assumption/shopping day before school starts. The night before I was up all night doing whatever it is mostly watching youtubes. I remembered the church connection and looked up times for Mass at my church. I discovered they have a lushly beautiful on-line bulletin and it told me Mass would be at 8:30 am.

Tuesday was writers group at 10 am. I was thinking I could make them both - but I was wrong because it takes an hour to get to writers group and a mass is probably a bit longer than half a hour even in these liberalized times.

I didn’t go. I think I was up in time to go but I really just didn’t want to and after all no one makes me do anything I don’t want to do, including me, including going to church. I did go to writers group and it was ok. The man whose book I bought last time forgot to bring it. His wife was a little put out. I’d made the deal with him while she was in the bathroom and she was unaware until he told he he had forgotten it. Oh well. I’d like to have a book shelf dedicated to books written by people I know. That’s one of my life aspirations what will never be achieved. I like to think of the books I have by people I know. I have books from two of you. I have a book from one of my writer’s group people. I have a book from the man who ran my old old old job’s profit sharing program. His last name was Crook. I had to buy his book because of that. I have some poetry books by a woman who lives in town whom I’m jealous of. Not so much for the writing but yes because of the writing. I must have others but that’s all that comes to mind this non-foggy morning of my life. * Oh now I have my sisterinlaw’s book too.

Yesterday our US Representative was scheduled to come to town for a public meeting. I’ve never met her and I like to see and hear people like that. The meeting was at 9:15 at our town’s new Vietnam War museum - a place I’d never been to and a place that interests me. So I thought I could kill two birds with one stone. I did not intend to attend armed. Of course. But I overslept. It was a few minutes after 9 when I looked at the kitchen clock that controls all activities. So I stayed hHereome.

This afternoon is the library’s monthly used book sale. It’s this afternoon and I plan to go to that. I’ve gotten out of the habit - perhaps only having gone once this year. I suppose I’ll go unless something more exciting/less demanding comes up.

Jim has gone to help the neighbor’s son figure out how to mow CRP ground that has been in the conservation program for 10 years. It seems to have terraces inside of terraces - Jim looked up its picture on google maps. The parents are on vacation in South America. The mom had gotten tired of being cooped up on camper trips.

We have decided to fix the barn. It will cost as much as fixing Jim’s teeth did last year. What is life if you can’t fix your teeth or the barn? Nothing. Listen to the lyrics from the song above. It’s all about teeth fixing and barn preservation.

Have a good day everyone. It’s beautiful here. We’ve had rain the last few weeks, perhaps a bit late for the crops, but much much better than none. I’ve been getting tomatoes and cucumbers from Jim’s landlord. I even went and picked my own when they were on vacation.

Summer is a grand time. Blessings to us all.

Here’s three photos from Ireland.

Hozier’s from Ireland.

I might be wearing the red shirt on the clothesline today.


thesunnyabyss August 17, 2023

I have been contemplating church in the recent while, it is odd.

Great photos, such a different way of life.

woman in the moon thesunnyabyss ⋅ August 17, 2023

It's funny how religion is never totally gone.

NorthernSeeker August 17, 2023

You know quite a few published authors. They must be people who make it through to the end with sheer determination. I will not be at all surprised if you write a book.

Purple Dawn August 18, 2023

I don't feel like Church has the same pomp and ceremony that it used to and I miss that. It's so informal. That's not what I want. I want the comfort of what it was like when I was a child and attended...we go to different denominations but I think you would know what I mean.
I have friends and family who have written quite a few books. I have some. Some I don't even buy anymore. One writes religious books, one writes about mountain trips on horseback with groups he charges a fortune to take and another writes happy stories.. I've been known to look at pictures from one of them with the horses. One of the stories the last woman wrote was about my mother. I should find it I suppose.
Take care,

Jinn August 26, 2023

If you write a book, I will buy it .

noko August 27, 2023

If you get better broadband there someday maybe you can have an artificial intelligence personal assistant who will remind you to get up and go places that you think might be useful and good. In the meantime eventually collecting books by people you have encountered sounds like a good plan. As does fixing the barn.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.