August Offerings in Scottish Meanderings

  • Sept. 30, 2023, 5:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm beginning to get annoyed that I'm having to go back and write about stuff that happened a whole month or more ago - thank goodness for photos on my phone because half the time I can't even remember what on earth happened! But actually I'm seeing that as a good sign in the sense that I must be wanting the writing to be more current so maybe I'm approaching the point where I can write in a slightly more up to date fashion. It's still hard to do an entry and I'm still not able to read any of you in any sort of regular way so I think it'll be a while before I'm at that stage yet. Maybe that can be a goal for next year though.

I did manage to read part of a book in August so was stoked about that - and I bought 2 new ones I've been wanting to read for a while in the hope that would kick start something - it's like my brain just won't accept I can't read like I used to and keeps urging me to try!

Which reminds me of a really good quote I read somewhere this month:

'We are like books.
Most people only see our cover;
the minority read only the introduction;
many people believe the critics.
Few will see our content.'


I liked that.

One of the highlights of August was going to a candlelit concert. I kept seeing them being advertised on Facebook and was curious - there seemed to be all different genres, Queen, Pink Floyd, Adele, Abba - but I couldn't figure out what they would be like without the vocals then I saw one for Ludovico Einaudi's (Italian classical music pianist) music and discovered it was being held at St. Machar's Cathedral, about 10 minutes' drive from my house so I bit the bullet and bought a ticket. There were only £30 ones left so I hesitated because that's a lot of money to lose if you're not well enough to go. And the reason I only bought a ticket for myself so that I didn't affect anyone else if that happened.

In hindsight I would have pushed the boat out and bought an even dearer seat but I'll get to that in a minute. As it turned out it wasn't a great day for it to happen because when I bought the ticket I didn't know the landscapers would be here that day which meant I had to get up early and I was also babysitting all 3 kids in the afternoon for a couple of hours. Plus not feeling well. The kids didn't go home until 6.45 and the concert started at 7.45 but that probably worked out quite well because it meant there was no time to stress about it - it just gave me enough time to tidy up, have a snack, get changed and get there.

The cathedral was really beautiful with gorgeous stained glass windows but when someone came on with a welcome spiel, she said there were over 2000 candles there altogether and I was surprised at that because from what I could see, it didn't look like a quarter of that amount. But then when the concert was finished, we were allowed to take photos/videos and I went down to the front and saw what she meant.

This is what I could see from my seat.


And this is what was down at the front.


It doesn't give you a flavour of how beautiful it actually was to be honest - there were clusters of candles at the sides of the aisles as well (surely must have been electronic candles??) but that's what I meant by the more expensive seats - if I'd known that's what it was like at the front I would have pushed the boat out and gone for the seats down there even though they were £45 - it would have made the experience much more evocative I think. I couldn't even see the piano or the pianist from where I was sitting!

A weird thing happened during it. There are several of Einaudi's pieces I used to love listening to but there's one in particular which used to make my spirit soar in the old days - Nuvole Bianche - and when the pianist played it my eyes began to fill up with tears. But I still felt just as grotty as I had all day! It was like my body was operating from memory and recognised the piece but I still wasn't able to feel the emotion/feeling to go with it - it was quite bizarre. But also a good sign - maybe things are starting to wake up inside at last.

I'm glad I pushed myself to go though and on the strength of that I've bought a ticket for one at Christmas called Moonlight Sonata which is another favourite piece but there are other well known classical pieces being played with it so that should be a good one. It's in a different location so I hope it's just as beautiful and I managed to get a discount for it so the ticket is costing £40 instead of £45 - every little helps!


The weather was quite nice in August and we had a sort of last hurrah of summer in the final two weeks which was lovely - part of that coincided with Nikki's two weeks' holidays from work we we had some nice days out and forays to the beach.

One place we went to which Nikki was greatly excited about was Husky Haven.


She was going to do this as a birthday present for me a year or two ago and at first I thought she was talking about some place where you could go on a sled with a troop of huskies or something and couldn't quite see the attraction or where this could possibly be happening. Then it turned out it was a place a guy had set up in Aberdeenshire which housed over 30 huskies and which had packages of kennel tours and different levels of runs. She'd gone out with her friend one day and absolutely loved it so was desperate for me to see it.

So out we went but I had a bad feeling about the place the day before and I couldn't shake it. It didn't dissipate once we got there either and the whole time I was there I was on edge and couldn't properly relax. I didn't like the set up - over 30 huskies chained up round a big yard in front of kennel cages, a dish of water beside each but still out in the sun (and it was a hot day that day) although half were in the shade and they rotated them every so often.

For an hour anyone could go up to them and talk to them/stroke them or brush their coats. Nikki made a beeline for her favourite dog from last time and the one beside her actually growled at her and got very close to her - my heart was in my mouth but nothing happened thank God.

The dog that's nuzzling into her is the one which growled.


It was interesting that none of the kids were that taken with the dogs either and in fact Ruari said he 'didn't like it'. The girls eventually went to talk to some of them as did I but like I say, I just couldn't fully relax - there was just something about the whole place that didn't ring true to me - I really hope I'm wrong.

Here's Lilah being brave.


Ruari was hilarious - he's a sociable wee guy and butted into a conversation these 2 men and a woman were having and yapped away to them for a good 20 minutes!


I have to say I was glad when we left. The dogs were all getting put into their kennels/cages at that point and I got the impression that was it for the day which upset me but I have no proof of that.


Kids are all fine. Well Lilah has come out in more spots similar to the other clusters but these ones are like a group of purple coloured spots on her legs so another mystery! They're not painful or causing her any distress though.

Lily is growing up. She'll be 11 next month and is still a tomboy in many ways but there are some feminine touches appearing. They both got their ears pierced a few months ago and she was wading through my earring collection when I was babysitting one day and loving the long ones! I would have given some of them away with her because I don't wear them all but The Mother objected😁


And Ruari is just Ruari. Cute and delightful.


Nikki is having pain in her stomach, back and right shoulder along with periods of nausea so is getting a referral for an MRI at some point. This has been going on for a while now so is concerning. She, of course, is convinced she's got pancreatic cancer and has been having conversations with me about who she wants to the kids to go to if the worst happens! Blood tests haven't revealed anything ominous so far though so we're hoping we'll get more insight after the MRI.


And yes the landscapers being here means that a base was finally built for the summer house!


There might even BE a summer house in place now but you'll have to wait for September's epistle to see that :)

Jinn September 30, 2023

:-) So good to see an update from you ! That husky place sounds creepy .

Marg Jinn ⋅ October 01, 2023

Yeah I just hope they are well looked after.

thesunnyabyss September 30, 2023

Oh that garden is going to be so lovely!!!

The concert looks and sounds beautiful, it is amazing how music can move you, I have a hard time listening to certain Christmas carols, just moves me to tears.

We have a wonderful wolf dog rescue here in the province, I've been fortunate to go twice and the dogs were wonderful and the place was so well run, sorry you didn't get that vibe from your husky haven.

Take care!

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ October 01, 2023

I really miss the effect certain pieces of music used to have on me but it should come back some day!

I really hope these huskies are well looked after - it bothered me for days after.

Just Annie September 30, 2023

I always love reading your updates.

Good for you for going to the candlelight concert. I've seen them advertised around here on Facebook, too. I'm glad you bought yourself a better seat for the next concert. I'm sure it will be lovely!

Marg Just Annie ⋅ October 01, 2023

I’m looking forward to it!

Lady of the Bann September 30, 2023

You don't have to write a long entry although this was lovely to read. Would it help to write short ones more often? You don't have to write about everything either. I just write about things that easily come to mind. If I miss an activity it doesn't matter. The writing is for you,Not us.

Marg Lady of the Bann ⋅ October 01, 2023

I have tried that - did some shorter private ones to see if that was easier but apparently not - it’s difficult to explain. The longer ones are quite a good ‘record’ for me to look back on and let me see I’m managing to do something with the month - when you’re steeped in a difficult situation it’s hard to see progress sometimes!

mcbee October 01, 2023

What a nice update and pictures. The children are all getting so big! I do feel sorry for those dogs, they are probably desperate for attention and some exercise. The one that growled actually looked like it needed or wanted attention.

Marg mcbee ⋅ October 02, 2023

Yes I had a feeling it was jealous and would have loved to have gone up and petted it but was too apprehensive after the bad feeling I had - I felt really sorry for it though!

NorthernSeeker October 02, 2023

Wow, the candlelight concert was very beautiful. I bet the one at Xmas will be just as good. Good for Ruari having the chutzpa to talk away to those people. I have seen husky runs on Escape to the Country where the dogs pull tourists on a sort of bike like thing. The big dog looks like a malamute. I hope Nikki doesn't have to wait too long for her MRI....very worrying for her.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ October 03, 2023

Oh that's a new word for me - hadn't heard that type of husky name before - I think you're right!

Purple Dawn October 03, 2023

The concert sounds beautiful.
I don't like seeing animals kenneled up all the time like that either. Husky's are not a dog I'd trust to be part of a "petting zoo" type thing. They are really quite headstrong and vocal as you probably noticed!
Take care, looking forward to the summer house pictures!

Marg Purple Dawn ⋅ October 04, 2023

Yeah I agree - the whole thing didn't seem right to me!

kmh. October 05, 2023

Wow, I love that quote about humans being like books. So true.
Oh my gosh, the stage looks stunning. I imagine it would have sounded so incredible in the church too!
Hope those huskies are looked after properly. Bit too sad to think too much about, really.
I hope Nikki is okay, and that they can figure out what is going on for her - and of course, that it's nothing bad!
Look forward to hearing more about the summer house :)

Marg kmh. ⋅ October 05, 2023

Thanks - yes agree with all of that! :)

Justlovely October 06, 2023

Going to read in stages.. I love that you went to the concert. I wonder if we have them around here. I mean, I have heard of it. Glad you were well enough, after a full day.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ October 10, 2023

They seem to be happening all over the world so it's pretty likely.

Kristi1971 October 06, 2023

The concert sounds really cool!!

As for Nikki, this is going to sound weird, but has she had her thyroid checked? My husband had some really strange symptoms for quite some time (shoulder pain, and a few other strange symptoms) a while back. When he went and had his regular check up, they found something wrong with his thyroid. It turned out he had a tumor that had to be removed. It was not cancerous and removing the tumor didn't mess with his thyroid levels (he got pretty lucky there). The interesting thing is that all his weird symptoms disappeared. The thyroid can cause some strange symptoms if it's not working properly. Of course, the other thing to think about is her heart....shoulder/stomach can be related to that, but I'm sure the docs already thought of all that. I hope it gets sorted out soon!

Marg Kristi1971 ⋅ October 10, 2023

I would have thought anything amiss with the thyroid would have shown up in the regular blood test? Maybe not though - might be something to ask to get checked right enough.

Kristi1971 Marg ⋅ October 10, 2023

I don't know whether a thyroid level check is in the common bloodwork. I don't remember it ever coming up in mine. I'm pretty sure it was something extra they did for my husband.

Marg Kristi1971 ⋅ October 11, 2023

I'll make sure I ask her to check then.

Justlovely October 11, 2023

I hear you about the dog place. It's too bad you weren't able to enjoy, but don't disregard your instincts. It sounds like maybe the owner has a heart in the right place, but very poor execution. Your dog-loving daughter may just have become attached to the dog she liked, and doesn't see the whole picture of the place.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ October 11, 2023

Yes that could very well be the case.

Justlovely October 11, 2023

I wish she'd let L have the long earrings!

Marg Justlovely ⋅ October 11, 2023

Well I could kinda see why not - I suppose it would be easy for them to snag on things but I was thinking more for dressing up purposes in the house when they're playing, that sort of thing.

Justlovely October 11, 2023

I read some other comments about Nikki's situation, and I hope you're able to get to the bottom of it. We get told not to "Dr. Google", but women also get dismissed until we're mostly dead by the medical system. I've been watching this show on PBS about cancer survivors, and one woman had to practically become a doctor to get doctor's to listen to her regarding her cancer and the cause of chronic pain which she had. She told them the cause was probably the same as her father had had, and doctors refused to even investigate, but ultimately, the patient was correct. Will be sending up the good ju-ju for Nikki and hope to hear more in your next entry if she/you is willing to share.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ October 11, 2023

I was talking to someone on a Zoom group last night - we were talking about having to be assertive at the doctors and advocating for ourselves and her friend actually died because her cancer wasn't picked up and she wasn't assertive enough to get a second opinion! So sad.

edna million October 20, 2023

Poor Huskies!! I don't see how that could be good for them either. I've always wanted a Husky but the amount of attention and exercise they need to stay happy has kept me from it. Well, and Mark being adamant about not wanting a dog, lol.

I would LOVE to see a candlelight concert - now you know what to expect/do for the next one so it's even better!

And I cannot believe Lily is 11!!! They are all adorable - where on earth does time go?!?

Marg edna million ⋅ October 21, 2023

I know it just seems to be zooming by! I'll make sure and report back on the Christmas candlelit concert as well😊

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.