bright sunny day in Southern CA in keeping it postive

  • Aug. 21, 2014, 6:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

First activity - go to the pool. But where are the bathing suits? I found ONE. There had been at least 1/2 dozen. Where are they??? I haven't a clue. At least the one fit... tight, but fit. I did my exercises around 10 a.m. A woman in the pool told me about walking backward through the water - it works different muscles. I tried it. Not as easy as it sounds... LOL I figured it was early in the morning, and I would be out for about 1/2 hour, so skipped the sunblock

Next, I had to go to breakfast - it became lunch before I got there - at Denny's. I try to go at least once each trip. I LIKE the food... I got a Cesar salad with chicken and avocado. Bottomless cups of coffee are $2. I wish I drank more...

I must have JUST missed the bus to Denny's, so had to wait the requisite 1/2 hour between buses. In the noontime sun, I could just feel the freckles popping out on my arms. Again... I forgot the sunscreen. After Denny's I went to CVS... and bought and slathered on... some sunscreen!

After CVS... and in the same general area, was Ralph's, a Kroger company supermarket. I entered the "wrong" direction and never got to the produce section - I was too loaded down - three tote bags full - so I guess I go shopping again tomorrow. I also haven't gotten my transit card filled. I have been using tokens which are fine for close by when I don't have to transfer.

I count on going to the early movie at the AMC theater (they have lower prices on the weekends if you go before noon). I have to take the trolley there (after the bus), so will fill my transit card at the trolley station. I'll also go the post office at the mall.


MemoryFails August 22, 2014

ThoughtsAfter August 22, 2014

I love trolley cars. My dad drove one in the 1940s, loved the smashing of the seat backs when the trolley ended the run and had to return to the other end. Your invitation was very thoughtful, re: if I were in NYC. I would let you know. Thank you. Re: Denny's...I had a delightful fish sandwich the last time I was there.

Darcy0207 from OD ThoughtsAfter ⋅ August 22, 2014

I think these trolleys are different than the ones in SF and New Orleans. It's basically a surface transit train - about 1/2 dozen cars. A fairly long amount of track. http://www.sdmts.com/Trolley/Trolley.asp
I can get practically anywhere I want to go in San Diego... as long as I have the time.

ThoughtsAfter Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ August 22, 2014

Ok...my granddaughter Lindsey is a traveling pediatric nurse in San Diego for the next the few weeks, been there more than 15 weeks now. She adores S.Diego. Would like to live there permanently but...family is here in FL.

RosesAreRed August 22, 2014

Sounds..busy!

Nicko the famous August 23, 2014

What a cool day - swimming is such good exercise!

I am so careful in the sun.....I'm ridiculously blonde and fair and burn incredibly easily so I wear a powder sunscreen every day, it works so well and much easier than lotion.

Darcy0207 from OD Nicko the famous ⋅ August 23, 2014

I never heard of a powder sunscreen. Interesting.

Ragdolls August 23, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.