Cozzie livvies in Stuff

  • Aug. 14, 2023, 10:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I guess a bit has been happening, albeit nothing exciting.

The 5am starts at work have shaken things up a little. I’ve done three over the past two weekends, and two more this weekend according to my roster (while the EKKA - our royal show - is on). The pay for the hour between 5am and 6am is double, so that’s good, but only the hour lol. Still, cossie livvies (cost of living) and all that jazz lately, anything helps.
I’ve taken my lunch to work the past few weeks too, which is something I haven’t done in years. Working in a supermarket, it’s always been so convenient to just buy, but, I’m conscious of budget these days. I don’t really need to be as such, but I feel I need to be sensible, as life is friggin scarythese days, man! Anyway, I enjoyed meal-prepping last week and will probably do it again this week.

My tax bill has been paid and my final direct debit for the utilities at my old place have cleared, so I deleted those direct-debits from my account, just in case. The tax was annoying me because they gave me two different payment reference numbers and I was stressing about whether I paid it to the right number or not. Lord help us is the damn ATO can’t even organise themselves. In the end, I told myself to stop stressing myself out and wait the four days to see if my account had cleared, and I checked today and it has, so I can forget about that.

I owe Brande’ $80 for the soundbar he bought me ages ago. I haven’t seen him in months but he’s coming over tomorrow for dinner, so if he remembers, he’ll bring it over for me then. I’ve missed having a soundbar since Dale moved out and took his sound system with him. I don’t think this one will be anything amazing as it’s only from ALDI but it might help a little. I also have the dentist in a week’s time, so I need to find out how much that’s gonna set me back, even with health insurance.
I’m having Brande’ over because my housemate came home early today and told me he’s off to Melbourne for two days, so that was a surprise, since he’s always home. I swear he’s home more than I am, and that’s saying something, especially with me being the homebody I’ve been lately lately. I have to will myself to get out of the apartment, and it helps that I still hate living here, but I do by going to gym pretty much every day. Apparently I’m in the top 12% of regular gym-goers, according to the marketing text they sent me, trying to get a friend to join. Ha! As if I have friends, let alone gym-friends.

I loaned money to a guy I haven’t seen in years two weeks ago. He told me it was for his medication and his other friends and family wouldn’t help him. I find “lending” money to “friends” very high-risk and usually I never do (hey, I’M the one who needs money LOL) but this guy had always been very friendly to me and had never asked me for anything before, and it was only $40, so I decided to believe his story about the medication incase it was true and not expect the money back, even though he said he’d pay me back. I think it is better mentally for me that way. For all I know it could have gone on booze.
And now I know. Four days have passed since he said he’d pay me back, so it’s a case of live and learn, right? I know never to lend to him again. Shame on me if you fool me twice, as they say.

Gym’s going good. I’m enjoying it. I “know” most of the regulars, at least at the times I go. I’m happy with how I’m looking in the mirror too, which doesn’t happen very often. And that’s with my Winter pastiness, which makes me shine like a beacon more than usual.
I just need a tan, but it’s been too cold in this apartment to even think about applying fake tan to my bare skin lol, and it’s not like anyone has been seeing it except me lately anyway, so what’s the point?
My bluetooth earphones have been playing up (a charging issue) but I watched a few Youtube videos on how to fix them and it seems to be working, somewhat, for now. I had to brush the connection terminals with a toothbrush. I still need to check they are charging all the time, as they stop every so often, but at least they got me through a full-charge again at gym, which they haven’t in ages. I need to also hit the terminals up with some sandpaper, but I don’t have any small enough to get into the small case, so I’ll have to get some. I’m trying to hold off blowing a hundred and fifty bucks or so on another pair until I absolutely have to.

We have a public holiday in my city on Wednesday (the show holiday) so I’m meeting with the boys at Chermside. I haven’t seen them in ages so it should be good for a laugh. I think it will be packed at the shopping centre though, given most people have the day off. I’m secretly hoping one of them will want to see the Barbie movie with me :P

Anyway, I’m tired and just wanted to jot a few things down.


~Octopussy~ August 14, 2023

Aussie slang always throws me off. I meal prep, too, but mostly because I can't trust the canteen staff to cook vegetarian properly. Once I found shrimp in the papaya salad and I asked them which tree shrimp grow on, they weren't amused. I like meal prepping because it feels nice to have some control and sense of accomplishment. Your gym routine sounds grueling, I can't imagine it. It's nice that they're recognizing your consistency, though.

KissOfLife! ~Octopussy~ ⋅ August 15, 2023

Funnily enough, American's seem to think 'throw another shrimp on the barbie' is a common saying here, but we never use the word 'shrimp' as we say 'prawns'. LOL at tree shrimp.

It's not grueling - by going most days I don't have to waste like an hour+ there at a time like I used to - I used to hate that. I'm in and out in like a half-hour, if that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.